Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Am I ready for a Z?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2007, 02:18 PM
Plague_oc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Am I ready for a Z?

Well, Ive been looking at getting a Z for a few months now, going to be going to college soon and I'm wondering if it is the right time to buy a Z.

I have been driving my parents Honda and corolla for two years now and am planning to practice driving a cheap beater manual for a good part of the summer. My question is, do you think this is the right time to get a sports car?
Would I need more experience? I am turning 19 and I don't want to make the mistake of buying a sports car too early only to wreck it and get myself hurt in the process. Cant say I'm not looking forward to owning one though
Old 05-27-2007, 02:19 PM
HDPDZO6

If you have to ask a question like that, then don't get one yet.
Old 05-27-2007, 02:36 PM
acelesson

Z is not for you. Get an RSX or something.
Old 05-27-2007, 02:40 PM
dbasal

If you can not buy it without help, then you are not ready.

I would wait until after college to buy a nice car. Doesn't make any sense to have one while in school. There are other things you should be concentrating on instead of a car.
Old 05-27-2007, 02:42 PM
iceagetlc

I got mine at 18 (19 now), and it was hardly "too much power". RWD in the rain is your only concern, although easy to master, if you have years of RWD driving under your belt.

But as blasphemous as this is, I wouldn't really consider the Z a "sports car" in the sense you mean as far as shear power. In fact I'd probably have traded it in by now if I wasn't planning on Vorteching it this summer. It's a good looking and handling car, but good numbers are expensive to put down without FI.

RSX would wear off in months. This is a good car to grow into.
Old 05-27-2007, 02:44 PM
moflow

Received 15 Likes on 2 Posts