Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Burning Clutch/Average Life Span of a Clutch

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2017, 11:04 PM
LightningMcZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Burning Clutch/Average Life Span of a Clutch

So today I kinda had an emergency situation on a huge incline where the car infront of me slammed on his breaks while through a curve... I panicked a bit and threw my clutch in still in third gear and slammed on my breaks. I was at a pretty bad spot because any car going up the hill could've easily rear ended me so I began to get out of the way. The only problem was I didn't realize I was still in third gear so I kept giving the car gas and eventually I smelled clutch and saw some smoke.

I'm still new to driving manual but I did read somewhere that it doesn't smoke when burning a clutch like that? And also how much damage did I just cause to my clutch doing that? The car is still on it's original clutch at 80,000 miles when I bought it from the previous owner. I'm just worried that I just said goodbye to my clutch or something.

P.S The clutch felt weird to depress immediately after, more stiff.

Last edited by LightningMcZ; 11-04-2017 at 11:34 PM.
Old 11-05-2017, 05:37 AM
dcains

Received 435 Likes on 342 Posts

No one can answer this question, but yes, you did cause a great deal of additional wear on the clutch. You'll just have to wait and see what happens. And it's "brakes", not "breaks".
Old 11-05-2017, 07:50 AM
LightningMcZ

Alright well I'm not too sure what signs I'm looking for but I took it for a drive this morning (After I let it sit for overnight) and the only thing I can notice is that it's easier to take off in 1st and shift into other gears.
Old 11-05-2017, 09:31 AM
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 1,292 Likes on 896 Posts