Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Change to kinetix????

Old 06-17-2019, 01:24 AM
  #61  
RobPhoboS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 389
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Well, I did go and get the dyno done again !
BUT


You guys have the headers, and my car is on stock (although the LTH's might arrive this week)...I lost power (18)

We did an initial run with the stock intake pipe (Kinetix fitted), and the power was down, he did a couple of runs to confirm that. So he said, I may as well get the Z1 pipe fitted on as something seems strange.
I spent a few mins putting this on, and we ran it again. Same curve and loss in power (although confirmed cooler intake temp at least).
He did try several things with timing, although I don't have any photos of that stuff.
He couldn't spot anything that would be causing this from his end, I did suggest plugs (I'll inspect them this week) or perhaps the cork gasket was somehow interfering if it got dislodged on install (I don't remember having an issue).
I might peel that off anyway and put the Motordyne Aramid one I have in the garage onto it instead.

Note, there was a temperature difference of 14 deg.

So, when I go back with the LTH's, I'll also take the original plenum/spacer and fit that if we're still significantly down.
However I'm hoping it's a case of the air can get in but not out properly.

I've also ordered a new set of HP Ignitiion coil packs, as I realised 5 of my ones are original 135k ! (more of a preventative thing).

RobPhoboS is offline  
The following users liked this post:
bealljk (06-17-2019)
Old 06-17-2019, 03:46 PM
  #62  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Denver
Posts: 4,112
Received 454 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

I appreciate the scientific approach youre taking -
bealljk is online now  
Old 06-17-2019, 11:38 PM
  #63  
RobPhoboS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 389
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

I'll post up dyno's after this next round, shouldn't be too long now (at a guess 2-3 weeks).
When I put the new coil packs in, I'll inspect/photo my plugs too.

If there is anything specific I can get from my tuner when he's tuning it that may help anyone?
RobPhoboS is offline  
Old 06-18-2019, 07:03 AM
  #64  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Denver
Posts: 4,112
Received 454 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RobPhoboS View Post
I'll post up dyno's after this next round, shouldn't be too long now (at a guess 2-3 weeks).
When I put the new coil packs in, I'll inspect/photo my plugs too.

If there is anything specific I can get from my tuner when he's tuning it that may help anyone?
Forgive me - it's probably somewhere - what are you tuning with?

May want to get injector duty cycle or any changes in timing made.
bealljk is online now  
Old 06-18-2019, 07:15 AM
  #65  
RobPhoboS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 389
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bealljk View Post
Forgive me - it's probably somewhere - what are you tuning with?

May want to get injector duty cycle or any changes in timing made.
No problem at all, it's Uprev.
He did try some different timings too, although as to what I don't quite know as he's in a booth when tuning, and I'm outside (makes it a bit tricky for me to get info at times).
Note I'm on the stock injectors, and did ask if perhaps I required something else but he seemed to think these are fine. I'll ask him about the duty cycle, as it's not something I've considered or realised he could test.
RobPhoboS is offline  
Old 06-18-2019, 08:46 AM
  #66  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Denver
Posts: 4,112
Received 454 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RobPhoboS View Post
No problem at all, it's Uprev.
He did try some different timings too, although as to what I don't quite know as he's in a booth when tuning, and I'm outside (makes it a bit tricky for me to get info at times).
Note I'm on the stock injectors, and did ask if perhaps I required something else but he seemed to think these are fine. I'll ask him about the duty cycle, as it's not something I've considered or realised he could test.
I'd pick his brain too on what changes he made and what he thought of the process. If he can monitor the MAF signal that might be a give-away too. More airflow means more power!
bealljk is online now  
Old 06-18-2019, 08:54 AM
  #67  
RobPhoboS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 389
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bealljk View Post
I'd pick his brain too on what changes he made and what he thought of the process. If he can monitor the MAF signal that might be a give-away too. More airflow means more power!
If I have enough energy tonight, I'll pull the Kinetix off, check the gasket (replace with Aramid if it's better?), and check the o-rings on the 75mm TB too.
With the Z1 'race' intake, I just reused my old MAF, so I presume that is fine with it ?
RobPhoboS is offline  
Old 06-18-2019, 08:55 AM
  #68  
Mr600r
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Something else has to be wrong for that much power loss, I lost power in midrange that was gained back and then some.
Top end gains are mosty after 6200 or so where oem intake falls off.🤷🏻*♂️🤷🏻*♂️🤷🏻*♂️
Mr600r is offline  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:02 AM
  #69  
RobPhoboS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 389
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

I put some pic's up for you guys.





Temp difference (although that's corrected for iirc, so shouldn't affect the readout)




I pulled the Kinetix off to check for any problems, I did see that one of the orings for the throttle body was snapped and hanging out!
I'm not sure if I could have causes a little air leak but I'll replace that anyway.


Last edited by RobPhoboS; 06-18-2019 at 02:48 PM.
RobPhoboS is offline  
Old 06-19-2019, 07:21 PM
  #70  
DarkZ03
Registered User
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Des Plaines
Posts: 578
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Judging from the pics you are using the czp adapters? I ran into issues with them, I used only one o-ring in between the two plates. On the manifold I used the cork one and the gasket that NWP provides at the TB. The fitment on those rings are terrible IMO, also the TB doesn't like it when you move it by hand as it messes with it's calibration.
DarkZ03 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
RobPhoboS (06-19-2019)
Old 06-19-2019, 11:31 PM
  #71  
RobPhoboS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 389
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

I agree that the orings aren't good as they seem slightly too tight,and I'm not entirely sure what they do exactly in this case?
The whole intake was off, so it's not connected when I took that photo. I've taken the cork off of the bottom of the Kinetix (I used some Tardis so no scraping), and the Aramid gasket is there now.
I also noticed that 1 pipe going to the pcv/catch can wasn't connected properly to the pcv! It had been blowing oil up the outside of the pipe. Doh.
I don't know if these things could cause much of a problem but I've sorted that at least.
RobPhoboS is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 06:33 PM
  #72  
DarkZ03
Registered User
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Des Plaines
Posts: 578
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

In theory they should seal better but the fitment is terrible, that's why I only used the one in between
DarkZ03 is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 06:47 PM
  #73  
DarkZ03
Registered User
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Des Plaines
Posts: 578
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

FWIW all those things were most definitely throwing off your AFR, but I would definitely look into new proper fitting o-rings or use gaskets if you don't mind the looks. LMK how that aramid gasket works, I had thought of using it but opted to use the cork for now. Also was tempted to see how those thermal plastic gaskets work but we'll see.
DarkZ03 is offline  
Old 06-21-2019, 01:05 AM
  #74  
RobPhoboS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 389
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

The new o-rings arrived yesterday thanks to my awesome supplier here in the UK (Torqen).
So my top tip is...to ensure they stayed in place, a little bit of RTV in the groove, worked perfectly (just wipe off any excess).
I also replaced the hose that had worked itself free from the PCV, that particular hose was far to thick.

Removing the cork is very easy, I'm sure you guys have something similar to Tardis out there?
I just poured some into a baking tray and let it sit in there for a few hours. When I picked it up the gasket just fell off !
I've left the cork one on the TB for now though.

Hopefully this info isn't derailing the thread too much but I guess it's all relevant
RobPhoboS is offline  
Old 07-03-2019, 03:20 AM
  #75  
RobPhoboS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 389
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Nearly fitted these...






Just hoping these help

Once again, sorry for the threadjacking.
RobPhoboS is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
allshownogo
Maintenance & Repair
18
11-07-2018 06:20 AM
FarSeide
Northern California
1
04-21-2005 09:38 PM
Dissolved
Intake Exhaust
4
01-10-2005 01:11 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Change to kinetix????


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: