Weak Windshields?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2004 | 12:07 PM
Z Shadow

Angry Weak Windshields?

I've been driving for 18 years and have had numerous vehicles

I've gotten only one broken ( star ) in my windshield

In the last three months I've gotten 2

This car has the lowest angled winshield of any car I've owned.

What gives bad luck or are others experiencing this problem?

Old 04-12-2004 | 12:34 PM
JawKnee

I was actually wondering about this the other day.

I replaced a windshield after 3,575 miles with another OEM unit -- received a huge crack from a rock. Then around the 5k mark, I got a nice ding from yet another rock which was filled 2-3 days afterwards. Unfortunately, I think it's starting to spread.

I now have 8,770 miles on the car.
Old 04-12-2004 | 01:07 PM
mode101

Is it just me, or does everything on the car seem delicate. Like it scratches, chips, or dents really easy ?
Old 04-12-2004 | 01:47 PM
DrCold

I think the Z windshield is very weak. I've never had a crack in any off my cars, and I get the Z and I have one in less than a year. Oh well, the price you pay I guess.
Old 04-12-2004 | 02:48 PM
failsafe
....for your health
Premier Member

I had about 1,200 miles on my car when a rock hit my windshield about an inch from the A pillar on the drivers side- immediate 4 inch crack. OEM windshield from Nissan runs ~800 plus labor. I had the windshield replaced with PPG for $330 P&L. The guy who installed the windshield said he had quite a few Z's in recent months. I've had one tiny ding on the PPG sine it was installed (20K on car now).
Old 04-12-2004 | 02:59 PM
rattycat

I also have a 'high' 4x4 and I have had to replace the windshield three times arleady - so it isn't how low to the ground the vehicle is overall.