Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Dumb Sub Wiring Question.......

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2003, 09:00 PM
DiverDown

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Dumb Sub Wiring Question.......

I have two JL Audio 8W3's. I have never done this before so I referred to the paperwork included in the boxes with the subs as far as wiring them from the banana clips to the inputs on the subs.

According to the papers, there should be a total of four wires ( two + and two -) going into each sub. See link below....

http://www.jlaudio.com/subwoofers/pdfs/8W3_BDS.pdf

As of right now, I only have one + and one - going from the banana input clip to the sub. Am I absolutely supposed to have the four wires since it is a dual voice coil???? If so, which way should they be wired? (Probably should have asked this BEFORE mounting the subs, huh!??!)

Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks,
DD
Old 01-23-2003, 03:34 AM
onecoolee

Received 23 Likes on 13 Posts
Default This is very important...

First off, yes, you should wire both voice coils...most DVC subs do not recommend not driving both voice coils...JL Audio gives the end user alot of options for wiring, depending on whcih model of subs you have (D2, D4, D6)...the D* means its dual * ohms.