Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

New front end for Carputer...

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2006, 08:35 AM
Alang

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New front end for Carputer...

I am designing a new front end for my car computer. I wanted something that matched the factory headunit. This is my first attempt at using a graphics tool, so its a bit rough, so don't be too critical of the details. Also remember that its being displayed on a 7" screen, so many of the imperfections you can see here won't be as visible.

I have the functions I want on the main page, but it just doesn't seem right for some reason. My design experiance is zero, so any suggestions would be helpful.

Eventually I am going to replace the factory head unit with another screen. The four rectangular buttons on the top will select the functions on the upper screen, the rectangular buttons below the display will start new windows on the lower screen.

Let me know what you think. (I am staying with the factory look for now, so suggestions to the contray won't help much, no matter how cool they are).
Old 05-17-2006, 09:04 AM
HyperSprite
Mad Scientist

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I't a good start, my sugestion would be to go darker on the background and bolder on the display, sort of like this.

Chris
Attached Thumbnails New front end for Carputer...-menu_off.jpg  
Old 05-17-2006, 09:29 AM
BrickydZ

I like it and I agree that it should be a little darker.

Some thoughts.
Staying Oem looking can be pretty cool because the look is elegant. but in doing so you limit yourself too.

It will place limits on the size, color and style of fonts in your text window, will prohibit album art, and visualization. Unless you go ahead and go more than oem on subsequent pages. Oem style will be very spartan but you may give up some really cool add ons that some of the front ends have to offer.