350Z How to's - Page 7 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

350Z How to's

Old 01-10-2009, 11:36 PM
  #121  
SmartDude
Registered User
 
SmartDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Good question

I have an '08 automatic and I'm looking to install an iPod integration unit and a video adapter to my OEM nav screen. but i have no idea hot take apart the dash of an '08 auto w/nav. Anybody got a write-up?
SmartDude is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 01:55 AM
  #122  
350ZTheStandard
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
350ZTheStandard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NEW AMERICA
Posts: 9,072
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by farobaba View Post
Thats odd, i thought I had posted it, but here it goes again;

Main website:

http://www.courtesyparts.com/

350Z catalog:

http://www.courtesyparts.com/350z-z3...c-714_715.html
Thanks for the link!
350ZTheStandard is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 07:42 AM
  #123  
SmartDude
Registered User
 
SmartDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default what??

opps thought that was a link to a guide on how take apart the dash of an '08 auto with Navi. damn. good site tho.

Last edited by SmartDude; 01-11-2009 at 07:44 AM. Reason: opps
SmartDude is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 04:47 PM
  #124  
SmartDude
Registered User
 
SmartDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by draco10 View Post
Hey guys. It has been asked several times, but no one has answered it. So I would like to know. How do you take out the factory Nav unit out of a 06-08? Thanks.
http://integrationsolutions.net/RADI...6_REPLACE.HTML

found this link in a radio install from integration solutions
SmartDude is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 06:42 PM
  #125  
anny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: china
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks

thanks ,all the members who post here ,it is very useful!
anny is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 09:54 PM
  #126  
fairladyzman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: north carolina
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i'm trying to install new HU in my 03 350z and ran into problems... i followed the steps on wiring up the relay and all but have one question? what do they mean by wiring it up to the mute input of the new HU.....what wire is that? help me!!!-
fairladyzman is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 10:17 PM
  #127  
fairladyzman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: north carolina
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what do i do if i don't have a mute input wire?
fairladyzman is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:58 PM
  #128  
farobaba
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Marydel, MD
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fairladyzman View Post
what do i do if i don't have a mute input wire?
Skip that part, because it seems like u have a base model. But it doesn't make sense why a base model would not have the mute/attanuation wire since the harness are the same on all cars but i might be wrong. Does the cd player have a mute button on it?

Here is a picture of how to wire a simple relay, i hope this gets you closer.

farobaba is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 03:36 PM
  #129  
sluggoZ
Registered User
iTrader: (128)
 
sluggoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hudson, Ohio
Posts: 2,308
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Default

How do I remove the stock, bose cassette, 6CD & Radio unit to swap out for a replacement.
I have a '04Z.
sluggoZ is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 02:49 PM
  #130  
ZKansasZ
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
ZKansasZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,648
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If I just want to replace the speakers only on a Z (with stock BOSE system), do I need to get any other adapter or things like that?
Or is it plug and play?
ZKansasZ is offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 11:55 PM
  #131  
SnyzzleZ
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
SnyzzleZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 548
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

any DIYs on how to run wires from sub/amp to h/u or change a h/u when you have factory NAV??? half of these links dont even work. I need help on this ASAP.
SnyzzleZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 02:39 PM
  #132  
ambigu0us
Registered User
 
ambigu0us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 577
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How do I install an aftermarket Navi in a '04 Touring w/o Navi -- specifically -- Speed Sensor, Reverse and Parking Break connectors??
ambigu0us is offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 01:30 PM
  #133  
shredZ
Registered User
 
shredZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Air/Fuel Gauge install

Can someone post on where to connect the wires for an air/fuel gauge on a 08 350Z...thanks!
shredZ is offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 03:19 PM
  #134  
BakaN20
Registered User
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 1,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
Default

How do I remove the stock, bose cassette, 6CD & Radio unit to swap out for a replacement.
I have a '04Z.
Go to 350z tech, there are diy there.


Originally Posted by ZKansasZ View Post
If I just want to replace the speakers only on a Z (with stock BOSE system), do I need to get any other adapter or things like that?
Or is it plug and play?
You need a spacer for the fronts. Most aftermarket speaker magnets are larger and will hit the glass when it goes down. You can cut out your old speakers and use them as spacers.


How do I install an aftermarket Navi in a '04 Touring w/o Navi -- specifically -- Speed Sensor, Reverse and Parking Break connectors??
Parking brake, what kind of unit do you have? You can probably just ground it, reverse you can tap the reverse lamp wire. Don't know about the speed sensor.

Can someone post on where to connect the wires for an air/fuel gauge on a 08 350Z...thanks!

Do you have an aftermarket wideband? Or are you trying to tap the stock o2 sensors. If it is stock o2 sensor, unless that gauge can read 0-2v, i don't think it will work.
BakaN20 is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 01:01 AM
  #135  
350ZTheStandard
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
350ZTheStandard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NEW AMERICA
Posts: 9,072
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Does anybody have a link to remove the the OEM seat covers, I am changing out my OEM leathers for new leather and any help would be great. Thanks in advance
350ZTheStandard is offline  
Old 02-18-2010, 09:07 PM
  #136  
trusovici
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens NY
Posts: 237
Thanked 19 Times in 10 Posts
Default Bose rewire

To everyone interested in what to do about their bose this is it:
if you have it and want to continue to use the speakers but replace the headunit, you must purchase a bose interface unit or something like that. if you want to replace speakers, you must replace the headunit and rewire the whole cars audio system. aftermarket speakers are a 4ohm impedance while the bose system is designed to operate with a 1.3 ohm load, and the actual bose wire is a weird sheilded non-conventional type of wire. i learned this a long time ago on my old bose maxima. that was a lot of wiring! the 350 shouldnt be too bad being a small car and you dont need the rear speakers anyway.
trusovici is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 02:45 AM
  #137  
cole_nattermann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delphi Indiana
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is probably a dumb question but I just got an 03 Z. not sure what submodel but it has the simple CD player (not bose or anything). I'm wondering if there is anyway to add an Ipod to that system? not sure if there is an input, or if there is a way to directly wire it in. to me the stock player just fits to damn perfectly to mess with.
cole_nattermann is offline  
Old 12-20-2010, 02:43 PM
  #138  
SmartDude
Registered User
 
SmartDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool ipod solutions

Originally Posted by cole_nattermann View Post
This is probably a dumb question but I just got an 03 Z. not sure what submodel but it has the simple CD player (not bose or anything). I'm wondering if there is anyway to add an Ipod to that system? not sure if there is an input, or if there is a way to directly wire it in. to me the stock player just fits to damn perfectly to mess with.
There's no easy way to hook up an iPod connection. If you want a direct connection, you are gonna need an iPod solution thats designed to work with your OEM stereo. But to install it you are going to need to take out the center unit anyway. Its kind of a pain in the a$s. There are walkthrough guides online. The key thing is to be careful, try not to scratch up any part of your interior or face of your stereo and try not to break the plastic parts that are designed to snap together and hold the center console in place.

There are numerous threads detailing the pros and cons of each ipod solution just search my350z.com for my posts to find them.
SmartDude is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 08:58 AM
  #139  
isalvus
Registered User
 
isalvus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Good tread

The how to's are very helpful thanks
isalvus is offline  
Old 07-08-2011, 01:11 PM
  #140  
03Platinum350z
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
03Platinum350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 1,816
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im looking for a how too dynomat the sh*t out of the Bose sub enclosure area! Ive heard some people use clear silicon to close up any holes in the enclosure, then dynomat over that then use hepa tape to make sure it is air tight! Anyone help me out on this one? Have all my shiz to take the crappy Bose sub out and replace it and want to find the best option!

Jeff
03Platinum350z is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 350Z How to's


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: