Run power wire from battery through firewall - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2003, 02:21 PM   #1
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Run power wire from battery through firewall

I did this after the fact, but as you can see I was able to run 2 4 guage wires with no problem. I don't think 2 0 guage wires would be any different.


remove the battery cover
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-p1010001.jpg  
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 02:24 PM   #2
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Remove the one fastener that holds down the 'engine area trim piece'. This will allow you some room when cutting and running the wires through the gromet in the next step.
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-p1010002.jpg  
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 02:28 PM   #3
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The picture doesn't show it too well, but on the other side of the fuse block, there is a big wiring harness that runs through a black rubber gromet. I used a sharp utility knife to cut an 'x' below the wire harness. Make sure you don't hit the harness by accident. Lift up on that trim piece if you need to. I was able to fit a flash light on top of the battery - let me see what I was doing and allowed me two free hands to do work instead of one holding up on the plastic.
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-p1010003.jpg  
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 02:30 PM   #4
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

now, on the passenger side, pop off the door sill trim piece.
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-p1010004.jpg  
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 02:31 PM   #5
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

remove the kick panel
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-p1010005.jpg  
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 02:33 PM   #6
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Now, push your wire through the hole you made from the engine side. Putting yourself in a strange contorted position, you will be able to see the wire on the other side (in side the car). Pull the wire through.
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-p1010006.jpg  
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 02:35 PM   #7
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Pull the rubber door seal off from the bottom of the car body.
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-p1010007.jpg  
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 02:38 PM   #8
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Now lift up the carpet and run the wire along the door sill and up the door pillar. On the door pillar (with the plastic cover peice removed) you will see holes where you can pass the wire through to the glove box area. Put it back together in reverse order.
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-p1010008.jpg  
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 10:16 PM   #9
alphared
Registered User
 
alphared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gehenna
Posts: 2,725
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just want to add a pic of what I did. The same way, but shows what gromet your talking about. Tie wrap the fuse holder to the cable and connected the 4awg to the battery post. Oh, its easier if you remove the 'engine area trim piece'. Just pop the second pin out near the top. Pull up the rubber seal and slide the whole thing out. This'll give you plenty of room to work with.
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-imga0850.jpg  

Last edited by alphared; 04-19-2003 at 10:25 PM.
alphared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 10:20 PM   #10
alphared
Registered User
 
alphared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gehenna
Posts: 2,725
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Heres one with the plastic back on and safety cap. Had to cut a slit in the cap so that it'll close flush with the new lug. The cable is pretty much hidden, I could wrap some more wire loom on it to make it look totally stock.
Attached Thumbnails
Run power wire from battery through firewall-imga0857.jpg  
alphared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2003, 10:16 PM   #11
msink
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the pics guys. I am going to install a laptop in the car. For now, I just need power for the laptop and the screen. I have a cigarette lighter adapter for the laptop from Lind, its very nice. The screen comes with an AC to DC plug/adapter (Xenarc) so I need a new adapter to run straight DC. With the battery lines run from above, what do you recomend I put on the other end? Could I just create 4 cigarette adapters here? That seems to be the more common way to run things or get adapters for.

Would this be a lot better than simply using the existing lighter adapter, and splitting that with a 2,3, or 4 plug splitters?

Links to supplies would be nice too.

Thanks,

Mark
msink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 03:56 AM   #12
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

alphared, nice pics - great addition!!!
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 03:58 AM   #13
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by msink


Would this be a lot better than simply using the existing lighter adapter, and splitting that with a 2,3, or 4 plug splitters?

Sounds like that would create a nice little mess right out in the open. If you were to run off the battery and do you splitters under the glove box - all would be out of sight.
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 03:49 PM   #14
msink
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is for a PC, so its not going to be seen anyway. All will be behind driver or passenger compartment.
msink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 05:51 PM   #15
alphared
Registered User
 
alphared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gehenna
Posts: 2,725
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Did you run the power cables in the cable tray on the passenger side? Since it was empty I used it.
There are two of them, a straight one and an angled one near the back.
The straight on was easy to run (ran a 4awg and a pair of 12awg speaker cables) The 2 cables (same size) fits pretty nice, any more or thicker would cause a problem.
The angle one is hard to run thru, had to pop the whole thing out to run the cables thru.
But man it is nice when it is done. I wanted to do the same on the driver side for the speaker cable, but that tray was filled already.
alphared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 04:06 AM   #16
tonkadog
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
tonkadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, I used the tray to run the wires on the passenger side. Like you said, easy. As for speaker wires, I ran them up the center console, to the left of the parking brake and shifter. May want to check that out.

https://my350z.com/forum/showthread....threadid=26620
tonkadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 03:55 PM   #17
Scafremon
Registered User
 
Scafremon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 2,336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Since my current plan is only to power a PC, is there a good reason why I should run a power wire from the battery, as oppossed to just picking up a 12v position from the fuse box under the dash? Since I also need to run a wire from my ACC to the computer, I was thinking that maybe the easiest thing to do is just pick up both these points from the fuse box. Does this make sense?
Scafremon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 12:40 PM   #18
icepop456
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Scafremon
Since my current plan is only to power a PC, is there a good reason why I should run a power wire from the battery, as oppossed to just picking up a 12v position from the fuse box under the dash? Since I also need to run a wire from my ACC to the computer, I was thinking that maybe the easiest thing to do is just pick up both these points from the fuse box. Does this make sense?
Depends on the computer and fuse ratings. A computer can draw a decent amount of current off the 12V supply (+/- 30 Amps) during peak loads. I highly doubt the red or yellow wires in the dash can supply this amount of current in addition to the other equipment already tied on to it.

Tim
icepop456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 03:53 PM   #19
Stone Z
Registered User
 
Stone Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,680
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

This thread was extremely helpful in running a power wire into the cabin.

Thanks a lot guys....keep up the good work!
Stone Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 10:39 PM   #20
jnifong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

anyway you can show how/where to connect the remote lead wire to the fuse box or where ever you connect it. i've always gotten confused about that part. but these pics of the battery wire helped too. i want to get my box in but have been too lazy. but i need to get to it soon cause it's just sittin in my room doing nothing.

thanks

jon
jnifong is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler XM 1 Engine & Drivetrain 16 02-03-2018 07:27 AM
~Greddy Revolution Exhaust 03-08 350Z $1165 SHIPPED!!!~ [email protected] Engine 32 12-06-2017 06:19 AM
Al's 400rwhp, Stardast Flared, Shaved Bay, Bagged Z Build Thread 350Z_Al Exterior & Interior 131 08-29-2017 06:01 PM
JMS Racing Twin Turbo VQ35HR MM'08_350Z VQ35HR 224 08-10-2017 01:55 PM


Tags
2006, 350z, amp, battery, coupe, dashboard, evo, firewall, g35, power, run, running, trunk, wire, wires

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: