Run power wire from battery through firewall - Page 3 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2008, 06:46 PM   #41  
pfunkmob
Registered User
 
pfunkmob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Firewall Passthrough

Thanks alphared you are da man! I just spent 2 hours trying to find that grommet.

Pfunkmob (the Lil Dragon)
pfunkmob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 03:43 PM   #42  
phandango
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just did this last weekend and it worked perfectly...

THANKS!
phandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 09:43 PM   #43  
damoniusmonk
Registered User
 
damoniusmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: LA, CA. USA
Posts: 1,317
Thanked 13 Times in 6 Posts
Default

So glad I just found this. I am putting in a bazooka 8 inch sub. Should sound nice in such a small car. I already have an Alpine head unit installed. Hopefully taking the trim pieces out and running the RCAs up the center console won't take too long.
damoniusmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 10:12 PM   #44  
ARMSTRONGARMS
Registered User
iTrader: (65)
 
ARMSTRONGARMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arkansas/Nebraska
Posts: 7,539
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it takes a bit to get all the trim out to run the rca correctly, your in for a treat
ARMSTRONGARMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 04:07 PM   #45  
cmweed
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Old thread I know..

I have an 06 and my carpet is stapled down with industrial sized staples. For those of you that did this, I assume you had to use a staple gun and restaple to get the carpet tucked under the trim piece?
cmweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:21 PM   #46  
rey rey_10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Suberbs of Chigaco IL
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

any info on how to get the wires threw the rear panel? (where the glove box is located)
rey rey_10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:47 PM   #47  
350Z_Al
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 908
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rey rey_10 View Post
any info on how to get the wires threw the rear panel? (where the glove box is located)
If you're going down the side of the car you can pop off the plastic trim that goes around the side window and down to the bottom of the trunk floor in front of the strut bar. It''ll be pretty obvious where to run your wires once you get that trim piece off.
350Z_Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 01:07 PM   #48  
cbr900son
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
cbr900son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,805
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rey rey_10 View Post
any info on how to get the wires threw the rear panel? (where the glove box is located)
I ran mine under the door trim and then up into the glove box area. Was 0 gauge wire too. It actually runs in the white plastic that runs the water to the rear window sprayer.

Name:  DSC_0796.jpg
Views: 652
Size:  98.6 KB

Then it goes up and under the tray in the glove box.

Name:  DSC_0798.jpg
Views: 658
Size:  87.3 KB

From there its super easy.
cbr900son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:37 PM   #49  
tthomas417
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I took all of the trim off and removed the glove box and what not. I then ran the wire from the hatch thtoughthe hole in the back next to the glove box and right next to the seat belt mount before running it under the kickplate. Take off the trim and you will see what I am saying. No sense in ruining the glove box.
tthomas417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 09:04 PM   #50  
orgasm_donor
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
orgasm_donor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't think this was mentioned earlier so I will mention it now. After running the wire through the grommet, please silicone around the wire as it goes through the grommet to reduce any moisture from entering the cabin.
orgasm_donor is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler XM 1 Engine & Drivetrain 22 06-12-2018 07:53 PM
~Greddy Revolution Exhaust 03-08 350Z $1165 SHIPPED!!!~ [email protected] Engine 32 12-06-2017 05:19 AM
Al's 400rwhp, Stardast Flared, Shaved Bay, Bagged Z Build Thread 350Z_Al Exterior & Interior 131 08-29-2017 05:01 PM
JMS Racing Twin Turbo VQ35HR MM'08_350Z VQ35HR 224 08-10-2017 12:55 PM


Tags
2006, 350z, amp, battery, coupe, dashboard, evo, firewall, g35, power, run, running, trunk, wire, wires

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: