Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

basics: sub box building

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2003, 09:09 PM
wren57
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default basics: sub box building

I'm planning on building a sub box to fit two Infinity Perfect 10.1 subwoofers under the strut tower brace. I am going to build just a normal box out of 3/4" MDF, then cut ends to fit flush with the brace from 1/2" MDF. I have never built a sub box before, but am very crafty with wood. My questions are these:

1) The subwoofers have 6" mounting depth. Does this include the excursion, or will the box need to be deeper?

2) Each subwoofer requires .75cu ft. How much space does each subwoofer itself take up?

3) How do I attach the sides to each other? Nails? Glue? Should I use silicon on the inside to fill cracks? Do I need to use fiberform?

4) What else do I need to know?

Thanks.
Old 06-28-2003, 11:21 PM
bastard

Default Re: basics: sub box building

Originally posted by wren57
I'm planning on building a sub box to fit two Infinity Perfect 10.1 subwoofers under the strut tower brace. I am going to build just a normal box out of 3/4" MDF, then cut ends to fit flush with the brace from 1/2" MDF. I have never built a sub box before, but am very crafty with wood. My questions are these:

1) The subwoofers have 6" mounting depth. Does this include the excursion, or will the box need to be deeper?

2) Each subwoofer requires .75cu ft. How much space does each subwoofer itself take up?

3) How do I attach the sides to each other? Nails? Glue? Should I use silicon on the inside to fill cracks? Do I need to use fiberform?

4) What else do I need to know?

Thanks.