Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

There's a sub in there?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2009 | 06:48 PM
Godfueledbc

Default There's a sub in there?

Ok, 350Z and forum noob here! This may be a dumb post but I just bought an 04 Z about a month ago...I hated the base factory system so I upgraded to a Pioneer AVIC-F700BT Nav/CD head unit immediately. That helped a little. The clarity is still pretty bad out of the speakers but I digress...

I had the base system when I bought the car, but apparently I had a sub in the Bose sub box behind the driver's seat. Would this have been installed separately (aftermarket) or with the factory base system? There weren't any mods on the car when I bought it (it only had 25K miles on it) a month ago.

My HU doesn't show the sub hooked up at all. I had the HU installed by CarToys and they didn't say anything about the sub. So, I am just wondering if anyone knows (before I go popping off plastic parts) if that is factory-installed or aftermarket? It sounds decent, but I would like to tune it some more if possible. But, I know that will mean giving it it's own amp and wires (which I'm ok with as long as I know what I'm getting into).

I am installing a Popcharger this weekend with a mechanically-inclined friend and may have some time to look into that sub but I am just wondering if anyone has any advice on this before I go popping plastic. Thanks!
Old 01-07-2009 | 06:58 PM
350ztttt

Bose 10" sub comes factory installed, and won't show up on a head unit because it runs on the same driver as the "bass" control on the stock H/U. An aftermarket sub will only show up on a HU if the LC1 plugs are directly connected to the HU. (i.e. not run through an LC1 converter, or part of a stock system)