Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Bought new enclosure

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2011, 11:47 PM
JonBell

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bought new enclosure

So more or less I got a new enclosure for the Z. It came with amp, subs, and a capacitor. This is my first time ever seeing a capacitor. I tried to search, but no dice.

From my understanding I need to run the wire from the battery to the capacitor, from there ground the capacitor. Then run a second wire from the positive cap end and run it to the amp (also grounded)? Correct me if I am wrong but there is minimal to nothing to be gained from a capacitor. I just figure it is there and attached so why not use it.

Without drilling holes in the car, what is the best route to get the power/RCA cables back to the enclosure? My assumption is that I run the power on the passenger side under the carpet and somehow maneuver it up and back to the back of the strut then plug it from there. And same thing with the RCA just on the drivers side. Perhaps better way?

One last thing, New to the dual sub enclosure scene. There seem to be an input for the subs on each side however when I picked this up the lady had a power cord in one of the inputs. I am guessing she just put it there and had no clue. Because it would seem to me that 2 separate speaker wires should be ran to both sides.

Thanks in advanced,
Jon
Old 05-18-2011, 05:49 AM
chaparro78

Originally Posted by JonBell
So more or less I got a new enclosure for the Z. It came with amp, subs, and a capacitor. This is my first time ever seeing a capacitor. I tried to search, but no dice.

From my understanding I need to run the wire from the battery to the capacitor, from there ground the capacitor. Then run a second wire from the positive cap end and run it to the amp (also grounded)? Correct me if I am wrong but there is minimal to nothing to be gained from a capacitor. I just figure it is there and attached so why not use it.