Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

My first slot-port box (Pics)

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2011, 07:12 PM
Z1NONLY

Received 95 Likes on 61 Posts
Default My first slot-port box (Pics)

After repairing an ancient Rockford 12" and installing it in a ported enclosure in my daughter's car recently, I found myself missing the low end extension that ported boxes provide. (I was running a .75-cube sealed enclosure I built years ago with a JL 10WX sub.)

So I started playing with designs and found that I couldn't fit a round port into any of the designs. So I decided to try my first slot port.

~1.3 cube box that ends up around 1.1 once the port is subtracted.

The port is 1.25 X 8 X 25.5" (~29Hz)

The 1.25 slot support was giving me fits when I tried to drill them in place so

I recruited my retired custom cabinet maker father-in-law to help with the delicate port.

Here's how it went together....
First, the short end of the port.

After he helped with the delicate stuff, I took the project home to finish. I wanted to keep it as shallow as possible in case I ever upgrade to a W6. By using 1/4" MDF(for the top of the slot port), I was able to maintain a little over 8" mounting depth. Here is the completed slot port. (Finished before I brought it home)

Minimal fill.

Ready for carpet.

Ta-da!

Old Vs new.

Installed. (Wire clean-up tomorrow)

I really wish I had done this sooner. The response is flat way into the deep end, and it's considerably louder than the sealed box.

My software said I would gain 5db @50Hz. In real life, I think Bass Box Pro wasn't kidding.

Wow! This is the cheapest sub JL offers with ~120w and it's now about as loud or louder than the 10W3v2 I run in my work vehicle in a sealed box @180w. (And the WX plays lower)

Last edited by Z1NONLY; 09-10-2011 at 07:32 PM.
Old 09-10-2011, 07:40 PM
kno

Received 120 Likes on 87 Posts

wow thats nice, i would like to make one like this for the cubby behind the driver's seat