New Head unit problem - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

New Head unit problem

Old 08-04-2018, 10:39 AM
  #1  
xS3CT0Rx9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default New Head unit problem

Hey guys, i installed a Sony XAV-AX100 head unit, and everything works great except for the radio. I can't hardly get a signal. It seems like the signal strength isn't enough because it'll fade in n out but mostly static. Any ideas?
xS3CT0Rx9 is offline  
Old 08-04-2018, 12:58 PM
  #2  
Heel Til I Die
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 748
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Default

Did you connect power to the antenna signal amplifier?
Heel Til I Die is offline  
Old 08-05-2018, 05:12 PM
  #3  
xS3CT0Rx9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I can't remember at the moment I'll have to pull it out later this week to look. But i remember there was one wire we didnt connect, i believe it said something along the lines of 'power antenna' on the wire. And the way i understood what i found online was that wire is if you have an old power antenna that retracts down.
xS3CT0Rx9 is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 05:26 AM
  #4  
Heel Til I Die
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 748
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Default

That's your problem right there. You need to connect power to that wire. I'll admit, it's a little misleading since that wire is usually reserved for cars with a power antenna, but the Z does not have a power antenna and that wire is used to power up the FM signal booster amplifier.

Hook it up to the remote wire on your aftermarket HU and you should be good to go.
Heel Til I Die is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 09:54 AM
  #5  
xS3CT0Rx9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks! I'll wire that up and see if that works
xS3CT0Rx9 is offline  
Old 08-07-2018, 11:01 AM
  #6  
xS3CT0Rx9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

So the only 2 wires that were left were power antenna and reverse in. Obviously that didnt work because you said remote wire. So does that mean i need to go out and buy a remote wire to plug into my head unit, then butt connect it to power antenna?
xS3CT0Rx9 is offline  
Old 08-07-2018, 12:18 PM
  #7  
beezee
Registered User
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,898
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Everything op is saying is correct. The Z's antenna has a box that sits right below the antenna itself . It is wired to the antenna and needs to be powered at the headunit. One of the wires coming from the car side to the headunit is for that .I don't remember the color but if you did pull up the wiring diagram it tells you .You need to connect that to the power antenna wire you see there or
if I remember right the amp turn on wire works as well
beezee is offline  
Old 08-07-2018, 12:27 PM
  #8  
beezee
Registered User
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,898
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default

The color is GN/WT which I think is green white for bose system
If your car had bose it will be pin 12 in the smaller white connector. All that wire needs is a 12v when headunit is on. You can technically take it from any 12v accessory source but it is recommended to do it as stated earlier

Last edited by beezee; 08-07-2018 at 12:56 PM.
beezee is offline  
Old 08-07-2018, 01:14 PM
  #9  
Heel Til I Die
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 748
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by xS3CT0Rx9 View Post
So the only 2 wires that were left were power antenna and reverse in. Obviously that didnt work because you said remote wire. So does that mean i need to go out and buy a remote wire to plug into my head unit, then butt connect it to power antenna?
I figured your aftermarket HU would have a remote wire, but it may not. A remote wire is essentially a 12v+ wire that you connect from your HU to an aftermarket accessory (like an amp for a sub) to tell it to turn on when the HU powers on.

You should have a remote wire (it's typically blue or blue with a white stripe) because I can see RCA outputs on the back of your HU. Connect it to the green/white wire that is attached to the brown connector wrapped in foam with the antenna signal wire.

If you still don't have a good FM signal, then you may need an antenna adapter to plug into the back of your HU, but it looks like you've already got that. Can't tell for sure.
Heel Til I Die is offline  
Old 08-07-2018, 01:17 PM
  #10  
Heel Til I Die
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 748
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Default



This is the FM signal booster wire...
Heel Til I Die is offline  
Old 08-08-2018, 08:13 AM
  #11  
xS3CT0Rx9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Theres a jack for remote wire on the back left, youll see it, its blue. Could i buy a remote wire, hook it up there and attatch it to that signal boost wire?

i recall there being a 12v wire but for something else. I think the stock sub
xS3CT0Rx9 is offline  
Old 08-08-2018, 10:04 AM
  #12  
Heel Til I Die
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 748
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Default

All right. I broke down and googled your head unit.

The blue jack in the corner is for the wire if you want to add steering wheel controls. It is not the remote "turn on" wire.

The remote wire I have been referencing is blue with a white stripe. You simply need to run a wire from the remote output wire (blue/white) from your HU to the signal amplifier wire (green/white) behind your HU that I previously marked with a red arrow.

See diagram of your HU below:
Heel Til I Die is offline  
Old 08-21-2018, 02:18 AM
  #13  
xS3CT0Rx9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Okay, I'll take a closer look but i swore I've already connected it. I stil have my user manual so ill read through that
xS3CT0Rx9 is offline  
Old 08-21-2018, 05:45 AM
  #14  
Heel Til I Die
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 748
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Default

If the FM signal amplifier wire is connected, I suppose it could be a bad signal amplifier itself or the antenna wire is not properly connected to your HU.
Heel Til I Die is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
twism7581
Audio & Video
1
10-02-2005 04:35 PM
scottone928
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z
6
10-03-2004 06:42 AM
scottone928
Audio & Video
1
10-01-2004 04:24 PM
walesinc
Audio & Video
5
03-11-2003 06:45 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New Head unit problem


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: