Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Amp question please...

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2004, 10:30 AM
Seppeku

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Amp question please...

Sorry for the total noob question, but here goes...

If you want the amp to run all 4 speakers and a sub, do you need a 5-channel amp?
Can you let the amp run the front two speakers and the sub, then let the HU run the back two speakers and just buy a 3-channel amp?

This weekend I'm installing a new HU, 6.1 Perfects up front, and an amp to run them. I want an amp with the option of adding a sub and/or quality rear speakers later. What kind of amp do I need to buy? Any opinions on brand and/or model???

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!
Old 03-22-2004, 12:00 PM
Kame

Default Re: Amp question please...

Originally posted by Seppeku

If you want the amp to run all 4 speakers and a sub, do you need a 5-channel amp?
Can you let the amp run the front two speakers and the sub, then let the HU run the back two speakers and just buy a 3-channel amp?
Yes to both questions.

I've got an alpine 4 channel amp running the fronts and 2 channels bridged to run the sub. I just left the bose amp in to handle the rears.

I've heard it's best to use separate amps instead of using a 5 channel to run everything, but I don't know too much about car audio.

Good luck with your install.
Old 03-22-2004, 11:25 PM
bastard

Your amp choice depends on which sub you plan to get, so until you know that, it would be difficult to decide. If you use a 4 channel amp with one pair bridged to run a sub, you are limited in what subs you can use.

Most bridgable amps are good for 2 ohms stereo (not bridged) and 4 ohms mono (bridged). When bridged, this limits you to 4 ohm (or higher--wasteful) impedance subs. You can obtain 4 ohms by using:
- 1 single 4 ohm voice coil subwoofer.
- 1 dual 2 ohm voice coil sub wired in series.
- 2 dual 4 ohm voice coil subs wired in a series-parallel configuration.