Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Engine & Drivetrain
VQ Power and Delivery



Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2015, 02:07 AM   #1  
XM 1
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,533
Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
Default Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler

so it's about time that the 350 needs a oil change (first time after oil cooler install)...and all of the sudden there's this question in my mind....how do i get the oil out of the cooler without unmounting it .
so i just need some input from you guys how you do a oil change with an aftermarket oil cooler installed.
btw do you guys replace the oil lines running to the cooler at some point?
XM 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 06:16 AM   #2  
vex008
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CI
Posts: 2,647
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I am in the market for an oil cooler (been searching for the arc but no luck) this also never came across my mind until you mentioned. very good question.
vex008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 06:29 AM   #3  
HRMoneyPit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,394
Thanked 263 Times in 214 Posts
Default

I think you just drain the pan and that's all you can get out


But that's just my idea. Very wondered the same
HRMoneyPit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 06:58 AM   #4  
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (62)
 
dkmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 6,321
Thanked 565 Times in 393 Posts
Default

My SCCA 350Z racecar is equipped with a Setrab oil cooler. Even though this vehicle gets operated at, or near redline throughout the summer, I never drain the lines or the cooler itself when changing the oil/filter. If you're keeping decent intervals (under 4K miles), I don't see a big reason to do so. Oil supply in the oil filter system is at most, a quart, and changing the other five quarts seems sufficient to me.
dkmura is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dkmura For This Useful Post:
terrasmak (02-03-2018), XM 1 (10-01-2015)
Old 10-01-2015, 08:50 AM   #5  
XM 1
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,533
Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
Default

well that's funny that no one really thought about this i have a ARC oil cooler and i think you have to add another 1 litre or so to the amount you already use with the oil change...imo 1 litre is a lot of burned oil !?!?! thought about just disconnecting the two lines from my sandwich plate and push the oil out with some compressed air....but not really sure if that's a good thing to do or not. maybe someone will come up with a solution
XM 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 08:52 AM   #6  
hulkout
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montana
Posts: 264
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkmura View Post
My SCCA 350Z racecar is equipped with a Setrab oil cooler. Even though this vehicle gets operated at, or near redline throughout the summer, I never drain the lines or the cooler itself when changing the oil/filter. If you're keeping decent intervals (under 4K miles), I don't see a big reason to do so. Oil supply in the oil filter system is at most, a quart, and changing the other five quarts seems sufficient to me.

+1. I warm mine up a bit and then pull the drain plug and let it sit for a good long time to drain. I always change my filter as well. I have heard of others that don't change it every time
hulkout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 08:53 AM   #7  
hulkout
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montana
Posts: 264
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XM 1 View Post
well that's funny that no one really thought about this i have a ARC oil cooler and i think you have to add another 1 litre or so to the amount you already use with the oil change...imo 1 litre is a lot of burned oil !?!?! thought about just disconnecting the two lines from my sandwich plate and push the oil out with some compressed air....but not really sure if that's a good thing to do or not. maybe someone will come up with a solution

Man, I thought I babied my car... Lol. That seems unreasonable to do every time to me.
hulkout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 09:07 AM   #8  
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (62)
 
dkmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 6,321
Thanked 565 Times in 393 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XM 1 View Post
imo 1 litre is a lot of burned oil !?!?! thought about just disconnecting the two lines from my sandwich plate and push the oil out with some compressed air....but not really sure if that's a good thing to do or not. maybe someone will come up with a solution
If you have "burned oil" in your supply, you'd better disassemble everything and clean it out. Same goes if you find any metal shavings or a metallic sheen when doing your oil change. But before you go looking for a complex "solution", there better be a good reason to pursue it. And I wouldn't blow compressed air through my oil lines unless there was a very good reason to do it...
dkmura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 09:34 AM   #9  
HRMoneyPit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,394
Thanked 263 Times in 214 Posts
Default

Blowing out all the lines with air is a big no no. Wouldn't that st as re your engine for a while till everything is filled up with oil after a dry start?
HRMoneyPit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 05:26 PM   #10  
guitman32
Professional
iTrader: (15)
 
guitman32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South FL
Posts: 1,780
Thanked 63 Times in 53 Posts
Default

+1 on not bothering with it. Just size your cooler appropriately and it wont be much of an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HRMoneyPit View Post
Blowing out all the lines with air is a big no no. Wouldn't that st as re your engine for a while till everything is filled up with oil after a dry start?
Technically no, as with a thermostatic adapter like the Mocal most of the oil bypasses the cooler until the engine reaches operating temperature. Since there is oil in the sump the oil pump gets oil through the filter and to the engine. Though it is true that air in the cooler circuit when forced out does get pushed through the system and aerated oil is not really a good thing.

+1 definitely no compressed air. And fiddling with oil lines unnecessarily is asking for trouble.
guitman32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 08:57 PM   #11  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 3,074
Thanked 259 Times in 226 Posts
Default

I disconnect my lines and let gravity drain them to my oil spill pan...

I go as far as pre-filling both my filter and my cooler/lines as best as I can...I wouldnt overthink it.

Last edited by bealljk; 10-01-2015 at 08:59 PM.
bealljk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 10:44 PM   #12  
XM 1
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,533
Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
Default

thanks guys for all the input you it should be ok to just drain the oil as usually without touching the cooler.

with the compressed air i thought more about just the oil cooler...with both lines disconnected from the engine! of course
XM 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 07:24 AM   #13  
Franknbeans
Registered User
 
Franknbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North of Pitt. PA
Posts: 153
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

instead of starting a new thread, I wanted to just bring this one back up.

Installing a oil cooler is on my list to do before next track season.
I noticed the Mishimoto cooler has the the cooler installed with the lines on the bottom.
<-see video. (3:30)

Some other companies I've see the cooler installed with the lines on the top.

What ways do you guys have yours installed and why?
Franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2018, 07:48 PM   #14  
guitman32
Professional
iTrader: (15)
 
guitman32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South FL
Posts: 1,780
Thanked 63 Times in 53 Posts
Default

Ideally mounted so ports are on top or the side filling from the bottom up, but mounted on bottom should not be a problem. Just keep the lines safe, and remember to get your fill level correct. My ports face up.

As dkmura summed up, draining the extra quart of oil shouldnt really matter if you keep your intervals up.
guitman32 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to guitman32 For This Useful Post:
Franknbeans (02-01-2018)
Old 02-02-2018, 10:45 PM   #15  
.:'3lio':.
Registered User
iTrader: (12)
 
.:'3lio':.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: nine o' nine my ducklings :)
Posts: 451
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nice

Last edited by .:'3lio':.; 02-02-2018 at 10:52 PM.
.:'3lio':. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 05:21 AM   #16  
herrschaft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: meth central
Posts: 662
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I just treat it like a normal oil change.
herrschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 06:27 AM   #17  
Bak3rme
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 318
Thanked 27 Times in 24 Posts
Default

I believe whatever oil is in the line is OK if its not drained. When you put new oil in that 1% of oil in the line is going to get mixed with 99% new oil.

I don't have an oil cooler to comment based on experience but I would like to know since oil cooler def on my to - do list.
Bak3rme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:12 PM   #18  
jean genibrel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: jean genibrel
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XM 1 View Post
so it's about time that the 350 needs a oil change (first time after oil cooler install)...and all of the sudden there's this question in my mind....how do i get the oil out of the cooler without unmounting it .
so i just need some input from you guys how you do a oil change with an aftermarket oil cooler installed.
btw do you guys replace the oil lines running to the cooler at some point?
If you run the lines in the bottom of the cooler some say it will cause the oil to drain and form an air bubble. However one line comes from the pump and the other goes to the engine. Both are fairly tight and should not be a problem if you drive the car at least once a week.
Think about installing a small drain **** into the lines or if you mount the cooler on its side you would only need one drain. In any case, if you do not fill the pan with the same amount of oil the cooler contains it will be low by that same amount.
jean genibrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 05:24 PM   #19  
Dan Garcia
Registered User
iTrader: (70)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pasco, Washington
Posts: 923
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default oil cooler

picked up a used oil cooler for my 300, it has one already but it is kind of small so it is getting upgraded to a larger size. i will designate the OEM cooler for the transmission, just have to clean it really good before i run new lines to the transmission. plus it came with a good mounting bracket.
Attached Thumbnails
Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler-s-l1600-1.jpg  

Last edited by Dan Garcia; 06-12-2018 at 07:31 PM.
Dan Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 07:08 PM   #20  
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (62)
 
dkmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 6,321
Thanked 565 Times in 393 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Garcia View Post
i will designate the OEM cooler for the transmission, just have to clean it really good before i run new lines to the transmission. plus is came with a good mounting bracket.
The USDM spec 350Z never came with an engine oil cooler. Whatever you're cleaning is an aftermarket component. Are you trying to cool an automatic tranny?
dkmura is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 2008 Infiniti g37s coupe 6mt Stevo Z SoCal Marketplace 4 10-03-2015 09:14 PM
'Cold' start noise- lapham3 Maintenance & Repair 6 10-03-2015 03:23 PM
Replacing Tail light issue. 350z82 Exterior & Interior 19 10-01-2015 06:25 PM
oil pressure drops after a run session? apex locator Autocross/Road 6 10-01-2015 03:47 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: