Notices

Subwoofer in stock location

Old 06-07-2010, 04:48 PM
  #21  
HEYROBI1001
Registered User
 
HEYROBI1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SUN DIEGO
Posts: 60
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

can any one tell me how it sounds? good? loud? with or with out dynamat? how bout facing up? or facing seat?
HEYROBI1001 is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 10:30 PM
  #22  
OMERTAITALIA
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
OMERTAITALIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LOS ANGELES 818/TAHOE
Posts: 452
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i had a punch p2 8inch in the stock location with no dynamat and facing the seat, it sounded horrible for two reasons, the sub sucked and my rear section rattled like no tommorow, i ended up ripping it out and going subless
OMERTAITALIA is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 01:54 AM
  #23  
callmemalibu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: arizona
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

what was ur airspace?
callmemalibu is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:07 PM
  #24  
rocZ
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
rocZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

great looking end result
rocZ is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 05:23 PM
  #25  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Here's my setup, which is very similar to "asteffy"s. Great minds think alike

Actually, my pic hosting site is down, so I'll post pics later.




Last edited by dcains; 04-20-2011 at 07:38 AM.
dcains is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 07:31 AM
  #26  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I will attempt this as well. I like the clean OEM look, uncluttered trunk/hatch space so I can carry my gym clothes/books (leaving the passenger seat for a passengar), and better weight distribution.
2fasst is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 08:26 AM
  #27  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dcains View Post
Here's my setup, which is very similar to "asteffy"s. Great minds think alike

[I]Actually, my pic hosting site is down, so I'll post pics later.

Dcains, do you mind sharing more info on that box? Looks like a perfect fit!
2fasst is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:27 AM
  #28  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 2fasst View Post
Dcains, do you mind sharing more info on that box? Looks like a perfect fit!
It's 3/4" MDF, and I hope I'm remembering the dimensions correctly:

14.5" left-to-right, 12.5" front-to-back, 6.5" top-to-bottom

The sub is 10" diameter.
dcains is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:28 AM
  #29  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dcains View Post
It's 3/4" MDF, and I hope I'm remembering the dimensions correctly:

14.5" left-to-right, 12.5" front-to-back, 6.5" top-to-bottom

The sub is 10" diameter.
Thanks bud. Overall how happy are you with the sound?
2fasst is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:37 AM
  #30  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 2fasst View Post
Thanks bud. Overall how happy are you with the sound?
Very happy, It's not real boomy, and no rattles in the rear section of the car. Nice, tight bass, louder than I need while driving, and accurate. The amp is a 250w mono from JL, but I forget the model number. The sub amp is mounted in the glove box, and there's another 4-channel amp (forgot that number, too) mounted below the glove box for the Boston separates, front and rear.

dcains is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:44 AM
  #31  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

wow nicely done! I like how cleanly you installed the Dynamatt type material, with perfect cuts! You must be a perfectionist.
2fasst is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:50 AM
  #32  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

I'm a trauma nurse, so I get a lot practice putting patients back together. Plus, if you make straight cuts you end up with more material to work with. I think I bought 40 sq ft of the FatMat, and there was some left over after I did both doors, the sub compartment, the area around the rear speakers, and the sub box.
dcains is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 02:29 PM
  #33  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dcains View Post
It's 3/4" MDF, and I hope I'm remembering the dimensions correctly:

14.5" left-to-right, 12.5" front-to-back, 6.5" top-to-bottom

The sub is 10" diameter.

EDIT: I think the box must be 18.5" wide by 12.5" deep. Sorry for the wrong dimensions above - don't know what I was thinking.

Last edited by dcains; 04-20-2011 at 02:31 PM.
dcains is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 03:43 PM
  #34  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Forgot to post a pic of the grille. I popped off the Blose emblem, sanded it flat and polished it, and then glued it back onto the grille:



I also used FatMat on the back of the grille, in all the little squares, but that may or may not be necessary. I never tried the grille without the FatMat, but I had a lot of little scraps that I was only going to throw away.
dcains is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 06:32 AM
  #35  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dcains View Post
EDIT: I think the box must be 18.5" wide by 12.5" deep. Sorry for the wrong dimensions above - don't know what I was thinking.
Thanks for the updated dimensions. I see you wear the Bose badge proudly below LOL
2fasst is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:33 AM
  #36  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I was looking on ebay and spotted this custom Sub box from SRQ Custom Autosound.

It looks like it uses the OEM mounting tabs to secure the box, and it fires down.

Anyone using this?

I'm concern about the weight of the box plus sub being roughly 30lbs or more and the aluminum frame won't be able to support this weight over time, especially over bumpy roads.
Attached Thumbnails Subwoofer in stock location-350z_1.jpg   Subwoofer in stock location-350z_2.jpg   Subwoofer in stock location-350z_3.jpg   Subwoofer in stock location-350z_5.jpg  
2fasst is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 09:24 AM
  #37  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

I just wonder how the box is fastened to that frame, since I don't see any screws. The other concern is how does it sound with no actual outlet for the bass from the compartment that houses the enclosure and glovebox.
dcains is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 09:26 AM
  #38  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dcains View Post
I just wonder how the box is fastened to that frame, since I don't see any screws. The other concern is how does it sound with no actual outlet for the bass from the compartment that houses the enclosure and glovebox.
It is fastened using that metal looking plate to the stock frame mounting tabs, which is why I'm concerned about the weight of the unit being held just by one side. But another member seems to be happy with the unit. I should have searched. oh...

https://my350z.com/forum/audio-and-v...ml#post9101525
2fasst is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 10:20 AM
  #39  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

I'm not talking about a weakness of joint between the metal plate of the enclosure and the frame of the car. My concern is the connection between the box of the enclosure and the metal plate of the enclosure.

As for some sort of rear support, maybe install the enclosure and temporarily remove the glovebox. You might be able to reach in from the glovebox side and see how much clearance there is between the bottom of the enclosure and the floor of the car. Then you could fasten an appropriately-sized rubber or wooden block to the underside of the box, to offer the addition rear support.
dcains is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:51 PM
  #40  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dcains View Post
I'm not talking about a weakness of joint between the metal plate of the enclosure and the frame of the car. My concern is the connection between the box of the enclosure and the metal plate of the enclosure.

As for some sort of rear support, maybe install the enclosure and temporarily remove the glovebox. You might be able to reach in from the glovebox side and see how much clearance there is between the bottom of the enclosure and the floor of the car. Then you could fasten an appropriately-sized rubber or wooden block to the underside of the box, to offer the addition rear support.
I spoke to them and they said that piece that you mention is attached via glue, fiberglass, and resin. Comes with a 1 year warranty.

Good idea about the secondary support. Maybe I'll cut out a piece of high density foam that way if my cut is not that precise, it'll just compress.
2fasst is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Subwoofer in stock location


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: