Notices

Subwoofer in stock location

Old 04-23-2011, 07:31 PM
  #41  
2fasst
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

How would you rate the Fat Mat?
2fasst is offline  
Old 04-23-2011, 08:44 PM
  #42  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

I've got nothing to compare it to, but if I rap my knuckles on the speaker enclosure it sounds like a solid block of concrete. Last Summer I also used it in my '92 Alfa Spider when I was replacing the carpeting. I did the floor pans and the gearbox tunnel, and it deadened the road noise very well. The best part was that I used two layers on the driver's side floor, to insulate the heat from the headers and cat, and now I can drive in just socks, without burning my right heel on a long drive.
dcains is offline  
Old 04-24-2011, 04:39 PM
  #43  
oddjobbb
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
oddjobbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: papillion neb.
Posts: 291
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dcains View Post
Here's my setup, which is very similar to "asteffy"s. Great minds think alike

Actually, my pic hosting site is down, so I'll post pics later.



do you recommend deadening the box itself, did it make a difference?
oddjobbb is offline  
Old 04-24-2011, 09:04 PM
  #44  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

I didn't do any comparison, and this is the first time I've ever used the FatMat. But the box is totally dead and airtight, and that's how it should be. As for the FatMat on the metal panels, you can tap on the metal and it really doesn't seem much different before and after. I had a 40 sq. ft. kit, so I just tried to use it up.
dcains is offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:33 PM
  #45  
BrainLeash69
Registered User
 
BrainLeash69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine:
- JL Audio 10W3v3-2 10” Subwoofer
- JL Audio 500/1 Class D Monoblock Amplifier (on top)
- JL Audio 4 & 8 Gauge Wire Amplifier Installation Power Kit

Name:  IMG_0793.jpg
Views: 551
Size:  104.0 KB

Name:  IMG_0795.jpg
Views: 580
Size:  171.6 KB

Name:  IMG_0777.jpg
Views: 587
Size:  58.8 KB
BrainLeash69 is offline  
Old 06-29-2012, 06:31 AM
  #46  
brandon kak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: granite falls, wa
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

going to try to make one next weekend. Any suggestions/ recommendations on what sounded the best? Trying to just mount the sub into the stock location or making a box and sticking it there?
brandon kak is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 02:02 PM
  #47  
Collin Lacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Holy thread revival. Just wanted to answer his question, even though hes probably already asked it elsewhere. Make a box, its worth the 10 bucks youll spend on wood and glue (more if you use dyna/fat mat.)
Collin Lacy is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:28 PM
  #48  
vicjr24350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Does anyone have the dimensions for a good 10" sub box that they made in the stock cubby hole?
vicjr24350z is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 02:24 PM
  #49  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Mine, which is pictured above is 18" x 12.5" x 6.5", out of 3/4" MDF. It seems to be the largest size which will fit if you just want to make a box with 90-degree angles. BrainLeash69's box, looks like it has a bit more internal volume, which may be important, depending on the subwoofer you choose. Either way, a sealed enclosure is the only way to go.
dcains is offline  
Old 05-29-2013, 05:27 AM
  #50  
vicjr24350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks i will probably get started on that this weekend
How does yours sound by the way?
vicjr24350z is offline  
Old 05-29-2013, 01:34 PM
  #51  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vicjr24350z View Post
thanks i will probably get started on that this weekend
How does yours sound by the way?
I think it sounds great. It's been installed now for almost 3 years, and I've got no intentions of changing a thing. The HU is a Kenwood, the other speakers are Boston components, and the amps are JL (one 1-channel and one 4-channel).
dcains is offline  
Old 05-30-2013, 06:25 PM
  #52  
radiivan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Miami
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Okay, so i like how both of you guys did it and i am looking to do about the same, i just have a couple of questions, what size cables or what are the references for the cables to hook up the sub to the amp? Also what size amp did you use ? i have a 10" type R. Lastly, how the hell did you guys strip the plastic pieces off of the rear speakers ? thanks a lot.
radiivan is offline  
Old 05-30-2013, 07:01 PM
  #53  
mattleegee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 867
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

very nice.... if i ever tear out the Bose system i will defiantly be doing something similar to put a 10" in
mattleegee is offline  
Old 05-31-2013, 12:31 AM
  #54  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by radiivan View Post
Okay, so i like how both of you guys did it and i am looking to do about the same, i just have a couple of questions, what size cables or what are the references for the cables to hook up the sub to the amp? Also what size amp did you use ? i have a 10" type R. Lastly, how the hell did you guys strip the plastic pieces off of the rear speakers ? thanks a lot.
I don't recall the model numbers for my JL amps, but the sub is 250W x1 and the main amp is I think 100W x4. I used two 4 ga. cables from the battery to the amps, the same for the amp grounds to the chassis, and probably 12 or 14 ga. for the speaker wires. More than sufficient for my setup. I'm just listening to music at a reasonable level while driving, or washing/waxing.

The plastic interior panels all just come off the body with gentle pulling, but you have to remove them in the right order. You obviously pull the panels overlapping from the top first, and so on. The only fasteners are the screws around the glove box. There are some threads on this site showing specific instructions for removing the door panels and installing speakers, as well as for the rear panels and speakers. Same for installing the head unit. Search for them, and become familiar with what's involved before getting started.
dcains is offline  
Old 05-31-2013, 03:28 AM
  #55  
radiivan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Miami
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot dcain, very helpful.
radiivan is offline  
Old 05-31-2013, 03:56 AM
  #56  
e30cabrio
Registered User
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hear
Posts: 37,161
Received 1,784 Likes on 1,342 Posts
Default

I have a Wicked CAS magic box with JL audio 10W3V3 for sale.


https://my350z.com/forum/audio-video...e-sub-box.html
e30cabrio is online now  
Old 01-25-2014, 05:21 PM
  #57  
soldierchon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: fort hood texas
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

how bad does it sound if i just put an alpine type R in the original stock position?
soldierchon is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 12:45 PM
  #58  
mnd7775
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 40
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Does anyone have the dimensions of the space available? Or can I measure the glove compartment and design from there? Are the spaces similar in dimensions?
Thanks.
mnd7775 is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 01:07 PM
  #59  
Dan Garcia
Know it all
iTrader: (70)
 
Dan Garcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pasco, Washington
Posts: 952
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default alpine sub

Originally Posted by soldierchon View Post
how bad does it sound if i just put an alpine type R in the original stock position?
Not bad at all, I got one in the original behind the drivers seat stock location.
Dan Garcia is offline  
Old 04-08-2014, 07:54 AM
  #60  
ohmicide
Registered User
 
ohmicide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dan Garcia View Post
Not bad at all, I got one in the original behind the drivers seat stock location.
did you use dynamat or build a box?
ohmicide is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Subwoofer in stock location


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: