Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Suggestions for beginner racing events

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2005, 06:35 PM
aprikh1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Suggestions for beginner racing events

Hello everybody,

I had my Touring Z since January and after driving it on highways and byways for 6 months I am itching to learn the true limits of this excellent vehicle. I am located in Maryland and would be interested in some kind of local club racing event. I am a beginner when it comes to any kind of regulated racing and I was hoping that some of the racing gurus from this forum would be able to suggest an event that I could try. I am looking for something entry level and that would require as little money or equipment to start. Since I am a poor college student I am on a rather limited budget, so weekly tire changes and large track fees would be too cost prohibitive. Also, if any Maryland Z owners periodically hold meets I would be interested in attending, just let me know when and where. Thanks for any suggestions.
Old 07-12-2005, 09:12 PM
SinCity350Z
Track Whore

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Here are my suggestions to you...

If you are looking to do racing as an new hobby, then I suggest autocross. Its cheap and you don't need much to start. Because its cheap you can do more events. Autocross is a great way of learning your cars limits in a safe and controlled environment. The only downside is that you don't get much seat time and you usually don't get out of 2nd gear (at least thats how it is in Vegas).