Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

introduction of a nissan guy, 350z for autocross and occasional track days

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2015, 07:46 PM
eye-5

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default introduction of a nissan guy, 350z for autocross and occasional track days

I've made up my mind to purchase a 350z as my daily/autocross car.

A little back ground on me, I've been autocrossing since 2005 as well as track days/instructing and competing in time attack/time trial events.

I have a SCCA Solo Street Modified Class 240sx that is pretty damn fast. I compete and have done very well in several time attack/time trial competitions including Redline when they came to Chicago in 2010. I took the RWD Street class that year. My times were faster than the champion that season who competed in drift class because the car didn't comply to the rules that event.

Here is a pic of my 240sx.

A pretty bad (helmet hair) pic of me at the redline event.

At any rate, I haven't given up on the 240 but want something a little easier to deal with for local HPDE's and autocross. When the 240 is working, I will compete with it in time attack/time trial events. For autocross/simple HPDE's, mainly when I'm instructing and don't have time to deal with the 240, I'm looking to drive the 350.

I've found a 2005 Performance with 29,000 miles for 14,500.00 or a Track Edition 2004 with 29,000 miles for 16,900. I don't know yet if I can bargain down the price on the 2004 track model. If I can, I think I'll take it. It is in pristine condition. The performance is way less expensive and almost everything I need.

Let me know your thoughts.

Goals are C Street class for SCCA to start, then maybe STU depending.

Thanks!
Old 09-02-2015, 07:41 AM
nextcore

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Welcome to the z33 community! or soon.