Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Square setup and Understeer

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2017, 12:08 PM
cubic202

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Square setup and Understeer

Hello and a quick question as I try move my skill set to the next level. I’ve been tracking my Z for about two years on stock 17s with Sumitomo HTR ZII; a very hard and greasy tire. These have been a great learning platform; lots of understeer on the fast sweepers, and quick oversteer on the tighter corners. I’ve learnt throttle modulation when coming out of corners along with the limits of the car and the driver.

I’m ready to move on to a square set up; 18/10.5 wheels running 275/35 Federal 595 RS-RRs. I’m running a stock suspension and wish to get a feel for the car with these wheels before moving to shocks and springs.

I understand the square set-up will eliminate a lot of the understeer but does this also induce snap oversteer? Would an upgraded front sway bar on a soft setting provide me with a little safety understeer?

For reference I prefer the faster tracks in So Cal: Willow Springs, ACS Roval and Buttonwillow.

Many thanks guys!!

Neil
Old 09-29-2017, 01:34 PM
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 2,283 Likes on 1,645 Posts

Going square on stock suspension will still be an understeer car. If you are having issues at the track, pop off one of the rear sway bar endlinks
Old 09-29-2017, 07:06 PM
cubic202

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok, keep the stock sway and play it by ear, gotta ya. Thanks! I'll report on the results, NASA event later in the month. Thanks again.
Old 10-02-2017, 11:22 AM
Blurvision

Received 102 Likes on 70 Posts

If will be more balanced for sure. No "snap" you are concerned about.
The following users liked this post:
cubic202 (10-05-2017)
Old 10-11-2017, 06:16 AM
N80

Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts