Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

Drag setup

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2007 | 01:41 AM
Bwicked

Default Drag setup

What Suspension mod in your opinion guys will get my 1/4time lower?

I'm a complete newb to suspension mods and how they benefit a car bt they sure do wonders i know that!!!

Can someone point out the single BEST suspension mod for the price that will help lower E.T's?

Also a small list in order of preference/ then benefit of the mod next to it so I understand? Thanks for anyone who decides to pitch in!
Old 01-20-2007 | 05:22 AM
MoodDude

I am not a drag racer, yet looking for grip applies the same principles as any type of racing. For suspension here are my thoughts

Your single most important modification is Tires, if you tires hook up better than you will spend less time slipping and more time gripping.

Next - I would think would be to set your rear camber to as near to zero as possible, this allows the greatest contact patch as possible and again allows more grip.

Then I would look at how the weight is transfered from front to rear. If you can transfer the weight faster during launch than you will create more load on the rear tires and then again create more grip. For front to rear transfer your springs & shocks determine this.

Finally - Corner balancing the left to right would yeild the greatest grip as you will have equal amounts of grip on left and righ. On the corner balancing, you will also have the goal of having as much wieght on the rear as possible. You will need a good set of coilovers for this.

Other great mods are - less weight, LSD, moving weight to the rear, and the obvious one is more power.
Old 01-20-2007 | 09:03 AM
davidv

Where are you starting? Post your times here: https://my350z.com/forum/drag/233840-top-25-1-4-mile-times-for-tt-st-supercharger-nitrous-bolt-ons-stock.html

Also the drag racing forum is a better place for drag racing questions.
Old 01-20-2007 | 10:56 AM
Bwicked