Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

spring install advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2007, 03:21 PM
vtb11

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default spring install advice

im a bit of a noob at installs, but im tryin to learn and save some on labor costs..
so, im ordering s.techs for my g35c and hoping to install myself...

can anyone point me to a DIY or just give me a quick rundown of what i need to do and have to do this?

or should i just have a shop do it?

tyia!
Old 08-07-2007, 04:49 PM
THE TECH

Grab yourself a copy of the FSM and check it out. Then you can decide if it is something that you want to tackle. It's not a hard install, but there are some specific tools that you will need.
Old 08-09-2007, 09:20 PM
Gsedan35

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by vtb11
im a bit of a noob at installs, but im tryin to learn and save some on labor costs..
so, im ordering s.techs for my g35c and hoping to install myself...

can anyone point me to a DIY or just give me a quick rundown of what i need to do and have to do this?

or should i just have a shop do it?

tyia!
Here's a DIY for the front, I'll see if I can find the time to do one for the rear.

Remove nut on sway bar end link on suspension control arm.

Use floor jack to compress suspension upwards to relieve pressure on the sway bar end link bolt, you goal it to push the bolt out of the suspension arm.

Remove lower bolt on shock/spring assembly, you may or may not need to use the floor jack to adjust pressure on the suspension in order to free the bolt.

Unbolt the brake line from the shock, push off the speed sensor lines off the shock.

Look up at the bottom of the upper A arm that's closest to you. See the cotter pin in it. Remove that pin, your not going to be able to reuse it, replace it with a 3/32" by 1" pin on reasembly.