Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

Sway bar settings (between the settings)

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2007, 03:41 PM
Z1NONLY

Received 95 Likes on 61 Posts
Default Sway bar settings (between the settings)

(Background)
I have been autocrosing for two years and wanted to share the results of a track-tested experiment.

I installed RS-R Ti2000 springs over the summer and got a just a little understeer with them. I then installed the Hotchkis sways to get the car neutral.

I went 2nd from softest up front (42% stiffer than stock) and the softest setting in the rear. (80% stiffer than stock) This fixed my understeer problem a little too well. It was perfectly neutral...as long as you gave it no (extra) throttle in a turn. Just about any extra throttle before the car was settled, and the rear would step out. (and cost me time)

I wanted just a bit more traction in the rear so that I could power out of turns better, but the rear was already at it's softest stetting and the next tightest setting for the front was...82% stiffer than stock, and would have theoretically put me back where I started. (understeer)

(point)
I decided to try moving only one link on the front sway bar to the next tightest setting and, it worked! The cars balance has shifted ever so slightly to where I can use the throttle out of turns, (within reason) and the car still has razor-sharp turn in and rotates well. My times are only slightly better than before I moved the single link, but the car is easier to drive overall.

Last edited by Z1NONLY; 11-05-2007 at 03:44 PM.
Old 11-05-2007, 03:43 PM
mw9

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

So the front is on the 3rd from softest now and the rear is at the 1st setting?
Old 11-05-2007, 03:47 PM
Z1NONLY

One of the front-end links is in the third from softest. The other front-end link is still in the second from softest. -Mismatched front settings, on purpose.
Old 11-05-2007, 05:31 PM
dklau33

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts