Notices
Buying/Leasing 350Z/370Z Purchasing Info

350Z or G35?

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2005 | 04:02 PM
MidnightRun

Default 350Z or G35?

I have refrained from asking this question numerous times, but after browsing and searching the forums for the past couple of months, the time has come to make a decision. I am considering buying a new car right now, with the aforementioned cars at the top of my list. I keep going back and forth the more I read, so I need some feedback. Obviously I expect you guys to be a bit biased, but please be as honest as possible.

From the outset, the 350Z has really been in 2nd place because of all the problems associated with the earlier production years. Recently, I have read the the newer models have addressed these flaws and the Z is now making my decision extremely hard.

I am 22 and still in college, but I graduate in a year and then its probably off to law school. I have a steady nice paying job considering I am a full time college student, but price is of importance to me. I can afford both, but obviously would prefer the cheaper option in terms of total payout for the car and insurance if I can get the same satisfaction out of both cars! Insurance worries me, but I have an extremely clean record. No wrecks and no tickets!

So help me out here. Buy a G35 Coupe or 350Z? Here is my mindset so far:

G35 Pros
1) Preferred Styling
2) A Bit More Luxury All Around
3) Cheaper Insurance Rates?
G35 Cons
1) More Expensive? But How Much?
2) Back Seat: Nice to have, but I'll more than likely never use it.

350Z Pros
1) Styling Still OK
2) No Back Seat
3) A Bit More Sporty
4) Less Expensive? But How Much?
350Z Cons
1) Higher Insurance Rates?
2) Less Luxury