Notices
Buying/Leasing 350Z/370Z Purchasing Info

couple of questions from a prospective owner

Old 11-10-2005, 03:15 PM
injendsm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default couple of questions from a prospective owner

ok im hoping to have the money together sometime in 2006 to buy a used 350z. i was planning on buying an 03 since they are the cheapest and im a full time college student with a part time job and i will be paying for the car on my own. the only thing is, ive been looking through various posts and seeing that the 03's had some problems which isnt surprising since it was the first model year of the car. my question is this, what exactly were the problems? i saw that there was something about the tires as well as something with the suspension but i didnt see any specifics. another thing i read was that if you buy a later production 03, you should be fine. is there any way to know if it was produced later in the year besides the vin? in my eclipse for instance, there is a sticker in the doorjamb on the drivers side as well as one in the engine bay that lists the production info, chassis and engine specifics on it so im thinking a 350z might be similar. i appreciate any help.
Old 11-10-2005, 03:22 PM
dirtroad

do a search for TSB, that will show you all the problems that Nissan acknowledged and will fix under warranty. there is actually a website that lists them. buy a Z with less than 36,000 miles (and under 3 years old) and take it to a dealer, tell him you want it checked over for the major ones, like tire feathering, transmission problems, and window motors failing. they should check for and fix them for free....

but then again, most dealers suck. ask the owner if he's had any of those items addressed.

most of all, take the prospective Z to get it checked out before you buy it. call a nissan dealer in your area and talk to them about your situation. see what they will charge to check the car for known problems (TSB's).
Old 11-10-2005, 06:30 PM
injendsm