Buying/Leasing 350Z/370Z Purchasing Info

College Student looking into 350z

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2016, 08:39 PM
carboyanno

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default College Student looking into 350z

Evening all,
As a prospective 350z enthusiast, I'm looking into trading my Miata for a 350z. I'm currently a Freshman in college, and I would like to ask a few questions about ownership from a few other members in hopes of pointing me towards the right choice.

1. Is a 350z a possible (not wise, because sports cars for college? ) car for a student who has about $200/month for the 350z?

2. How is the maintenance on these cars? My Miata is pretty simple and inexpensive to maintain. I understand that the 350z is a luxury car and will be more expensive, but I'm hoping that the Nissan logo on the car means that it will last me a good while.

3. Cars I'm looking at around my area for my budget of $5000 have about 130-150k miles. Are these cars known to last?

4. Are these cars relatively easy to work on?

That's all of the questions I can think of right now. Any thoughts I would appreciate. Thanks all!
Old 02-07-2016, 08:59 PM
dcains

Received 435 Likes on 342 Posts

If you are looking at a $5K Z, I'd plan on ~$2k+ for likely-needed maintenance issues.
Old 02-07-2016, 09:11 PM
bealljk
350Z-holic

Received 1,282 Likes on 1,007 Posts

You can do it...what generation of miata do you own? I've toyed with a NA and a NC miatas and if you can handle any and all of those and dont mind a challenge then pull the trigger on a DE 350z...especially if you can already drive a RWD in winter/rainy conditions...

How old are you?

I roll a 2007 NC and it's fun bc I have a DE 350z with (at the time) 450whp(hoping to see 600+ on my current build)...I can appreciate a 150whp/2500lbs roadster corning like it's hopped up on meth...but I'm also two decades out of school...

buy the car with cash either/anyway...please don't finance a 10year old car...