Notices
Cleaning & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Buffer situation

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2003, 03:32 AM
ScottC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Buffer situation

I am going to perform the following today or tomorrow in the following order: wash, 3M swirl mark remover, wash, Blackfire polish, Blackfire protectant.

Now, here is my issue - I have no experience with a buffer, but I am thinking about getting one for this project. I'm afraid that my arms wont work right after I do it by hand.

1. do you pros suggest doing it all by hand?
2. advice with the buffer?
3. advice with the 3M SMR? (1st time using it)

Thanks for any help and advice.
Old 09-10-2003, 03:59 AM
flynnibus
Z Flier

You don't really need to use both polishes... but I can tell you from my own experience with both products.. the 3M product does a much better job at 'cleaning up' then the Blackfire polish does. Washing the car will strip away any fillers the polish has left.. but the 3M polish is good for cleaning up mess/stains. Last time I used my 3M to spot polish the car, and used the Blakcfire on the entire body.

I'd recommend the 3M for spots, then BF the entire car.

I always use my orbital for the 3M unless I'm just doing one spot. I also recommend using the orbital for the Blackfire Polish application. You should take the excess off with a Microfiber towel.. same with the Blackfire.. orbital on.. MF off. The protectant I did by hand.. mostly because I didn't have a finishing pad for my orbital, and because of how thin they recommend putting it on.

Lesson learned with the 3M polish, do not use the orbital until it dries or hazes fully white.. it will be MUCH harder to remove.. you should buff it in but remove it before it hazes. Work in sections, removing as you go (its not like a wax you do the entire thing then remove).