Notices
Drift SCCA Formula Drift, Drift Showoff, Drift Session, Drift Day, D1 Grand Prix, Drift Nation

Want to improve driving...

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2007, 05:59 PM
Bday350z

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to improve driving...

I want to go to a track some time soon but since I'm a student and the closest track to me is in Iowa and I will still need to do a class before that I wont be able to go any time soon. And any advice about going to a road course near me would be nice ANY it doenst matter what the advice is. But, in the mean time I would like to go to big vacant parking lot and improve my driving skills a bit. What would you suggest doing to learn a bit more about my car? And what can and can't i do in the car without hurting the car. I get nervous even burning out and doing donuts because it seems like i could be hurting the car. So any advice on what i should do to go to a road course, what to do in a vacant lot to improve driving, and what I can and cant do without hurting the car would be greatly appreciated!
sorry for the long post
Old 02-27-2007, 06:19 PM
Equinox

Go to a local autocross event. They should be cheaper and closer than a full track day since you are on a student budget. Plus the speed you will be going will be slower than on a road course, since you are just learning.
Old 02-27-2007, 06:19 PM
davidv

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Self-improvement is tough because you have no way of gaging how you are doing. No accurate timing. I still like an open parking lot with 2 pylons in the rain. Figure-8s are a great way to test the limits of you and the tires

Autocross is inexpensive (about $30). Generally autocross is low speed but very technical. Your regional forum is a great source.

Open road racing comes in various shapes and sizes. The most popular is HPDE (High Performance Drivers Education). Generally you drive with a instructor in the passenger seat.