Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Paranoid about my AFR!

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2005, 11:32 PM
gotagetmyZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Paranoid about my AFR!

I've been running on the mods listed in my sig for a few months now and have been wanting to check my AFR for a while. Last week I finally drove and hour to the dyno shop and made 2 passes.

Other than the fact that my rwhp #'s were pretty sh#$#, the AFR really scared me.

I wish I could post the dyno results but I only got a paper copy.

As for my AFR #'s in 5th gear,
1st run (no fanin front of air filter) 15.5 @ 3000 rpm and gradually declines to 14.0 and spikes up to 14.4 right before redline.
2nd run (w/fan in front of air filter) 15.3 @ 3000 rpm and gradually declines to 14.8 then spikes up to 15.8 right before redline.
This can't be safe, can it?

It was about 98 degrees, 29.55 in-Hg, STD: 106 If this means anything

I run 93 oct.
Performed on a Dynojet Winpep 7

Could there be an error somewhere? Both runs were pretty much the same. Is it even safe to turn on the car with this type of AFR?

I've search and it looks like I need a reflash bad! Can I be driving my car around like this till I get a reflash? Please, some input would be very helpfull.

What other options do I have other than going back to stock?

Thanks guys

David
Old 06-11-2005, 12:02 AM
uplz4588

thats no good...
Old 06-11-2005, 12:36 AM
BlackZ33

I drive my car like this, seems fine, but I would suggest do reflash asap
or take off your test pipe.

Edited: but my a/f near redline isn't that bad!
Maybe shift before redline can be safer for you engine!
What method do they use to measure your a/f ratio?
Old 06-11-2005, 12:41 AM
Z BOY

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ya, putting the stock cats back on should help out til the reflash. i wonder which affects a/f more, the cats or plenum?
Old 06-11-2005, 02:21 AM
phunk
CJ Motorsports

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts