Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Dyno Testing Procedures

Old 12-20-2002, 10:34 PM
ChurchAutoTest

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dyno Testing Procedures

Hello all, I own a dyno shop in Southern Cal and a few of my recent customers have been 350Z owners. Each one expressed some concern about how their cars would perform on the dyno and referenced other owners experiences with getting what appeared to be subpar dyno results.

Now, I'm no Z expert, having only dyno'd two of them so far (and another scheduled to come in), but I do know a bit about dyno testing, so I thought I'd share a little of my experience with you and offer a tip or two.

- What should I know about dyno testing my car?

The first thing you should always remember is that dyno testing is a tool that is best suited to determining the effect of changes on the vehicle. It is not the best indicator of whether or not your vehicle is making its rated crank hp. Some dynos claim to be able to determine drivetrain losses through a coastdown test, but while this is better than a back of the envelope calculation of drivetrain losses, it still isn't a completely accurate indicator.

The second thing to remember is that comparing numbers between different types of dynos is a difficult thing to do. Comparing numbers between the same type of dyno (Dynojet 248 being the most common - the 224 does seem to read differently) is quite a bit easier, but there can still be variances. Comparing numbers on the same dyno should be very relevant, provided certain conditions are met (more on that later).

- Which brand of dyno is best?