Synthetic Oil Questions - Changing to Synthetic

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2007, 06:50 PM
AlvinHuyN
Nismo 370Z #697

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Synthetic Oil Questions - Changing to Synthetic

Hey guys,
I got my Z 3 months ago and was just due for an oil change. I decided to go for Synthetic and now I have a few questions about it. I also didn't know it was so expensive ended up cost about $43 after buying 5 quarts of mobil1 5w30 and mobil1 oil filter.

Q1. How long do I need to wait before I change my oil again? Some says 5k, some says 7.5k what is the norm? I know it varies between drivers but my driving habits is just normal, taking it easy. I drive 2-3 days at most (weekends) and I don't drive her hard either.

Q2. As for as Synthetic filter goes...do you change it every time you change your oil just like normal motor oil for does it last longer?

Thanks everyone, sorry I'm a newb at this...never used synthetic oil before.
Old 05-02-2007, 07:42 PM
Vader007

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Change the filter wit the oil, if you dont have an extended performance filter like Mobile 1 or Amsoil with the synthetic media then you need to change your filter sooner. As far as the oil change intervals, my persomal opinion is to go 5 or 6000 mile and get it out. Some say its a waste but its my peace of mind and my money. Cheap insurance if you ask me.
Old 05-02-2007, 07:51 PM
Fluid1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If I were you, I would use Castrol Synthetic, the German green blend. 0w. OEM Nissan filters are great. Change filter every oil change, 6k miles should be fine.
This info is out there.....
Old 05-02-2007, 10:35 PM
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 2,284 Likes on 1,646 Posts

If you do 6k oil changes , i recomend swapping the filter at 3k and adding the 1/4 quart of oil you lost with the filter change.
Old 05-02-2007, 10:42 PM
JDMFairladyZ33

I think this thread will interest you: