Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Lightweight flywheel question?

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2008, 08:43 PM
black3.5z

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lightweight flywheel question?

Searched and have found nothing! Just wondering if..well becasue of the lightweight flywheel you get chatter right. well I just installed a lightweight flywheel and new clutch and was wondering. becasue of chatter will this vibration cause any premature wear on bearings. I mean vibration no matter how little cause wear. Just wondering if anyone has had any problems with this. And another quick question what is with the clicking sound when ever I hit the gas and when I let off

Last edited by black3.5z; 05-29-2008 at 04:07 PM.
Old 05-29-2008, 05:22 AM
Neb

I like to start off these responses by saying I am no mechanic

...but I've had my share of car troubles, so I know a thing or two about car problems.

but as you already mentioned, chatter will cause premature wear on the car as a whole. My roomate being a mechanic says its probably one of the worst things for a car because of how much damage it can (and eventually will) cause. Are you sure a brand new light-weight flywheel is suppose to cause chatter?... that doesnt seem right to me... but then again I've never changed out clutch parts that werent stock.
Old 05-29-2008, 04:07 PM
black3.5z

I was told because of the weight difference and the fact that the engine has a split second where there is no power then power between the firing sequnece that this causes chatter. because the flywheel doesnt have the inertia to keep it going and during that split second and starts to slow down, then speeds up again. And does anybody have a clue on the clicking sound?
Old 05-29-2008, 09:00 PM
mcarther101

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts