Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Getting 3rd gear syncro repaired...thoughts on time it will last?

Old 08-16-2009, 05:39 PM
  #1  
the_dood
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
the_dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA, Delaware
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting 3rd gear syncro repaired...**UPDATED**

Im finally getting my 3rd gear syncro repaired after my warranty finally kicked in.

Anyone have an idea of how long it will last if i baby the car?

Im sure ill have a little fun with it in the beginning but since i heard that it will only last a couple years i guess ill baby the 3rd gear.

thanks dudes.

Last edited by the_dood; 08-27-2009 at 02:41 PM. Reason: update
the_dood is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 05:49 PM
  #2  
binder
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terre haute, IN; STL, MO
Posts: 6,457
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

they should put the new version of the syncro in and it should last.

Infiniti just replaced my entire transmission when mine started acting up. I have revision 10 of the 2003 transmission now.
binder is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 05:54 PM
  #3  
shiftdrift06
Registered User
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Htown
Posts: 489
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I sure could use one of those...my fifth is on its way out also...94k miles on my 2003...
shiftdrift06 is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 07:20 PM
  #4  
davidv
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 42,793
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

20,000 miles.
davidv is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 08:03 PM
  #5  
vthao
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 844
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by davidv View Post
20,000 miles.
It should last you the lifetime of the car. Synchros only wear out when you miss-shift and grind the gears, or don't push in the clutch and try to shift gears.
vthao is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 09:00 PM
  #6  
tecni
Registered User
iTrader: (28)
 
tecni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 797
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vthao View Post
It should last you the lifetime of the car. Synchros only wear out when you miss-shift and grind the gears, or don't push in the clutch and try to shift gears.
not true... syncros wear every time you make a quick shift.
tecni is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 09:11 PM
  #7  
[email protected]
Banned
iTrader: (37)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Charlotte / Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i thought that there was NO NONE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING in terms of fixes that were permenant for the 3rd gear issue. not sure though, im just a tard
Mike@Blackline is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:30 PM
  #8  
King350Z
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
King350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Whittier
Posts: 322
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by [email protected]e View Post
i thought that there was NO NONE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING in terms of fixes that were permenant for the 3rd gear issue. not sure though, im just a tard

i don't know. I was reading some guys saying that the new cd009 tranny eliminates that problem entirely
King350Z is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:50 AM
  #9  
binder
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terre haute, IN; STL, MO
Posts: 6,457
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by King350Z View Post
i don't know. I was reading some guys saying that the new cd009 tranny eliminates that problem entirely
mine also had the issue with 5th gear being hard to engage.

I thought my paperwork says "revision 10" in the comments for the transmission but 009 looks familiar.

anyways, it shifts much better than the original transmission. It was replaced around 48k and i have 75k on it currently. It still shifts like butter.
binder is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:53 AM
  #10  
Nexx
Registered User
iTrader: (41)
 
Nexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 13,658
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

20,001
Nexx is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 01:39 PM
  #11  
the_dood
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
the_dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA, Delaware
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

got my car back today and i finally have a 3rd gear and a new clutch.

however, something happened either something is really fugged up or there is a sensor or something that is not plugged because i got no power. pedal to the metal and it hardly accelerates. there is a severe lack of power going on. is wasnt like this before i took it in to the shop for the third gear and i made sure he was aware of that too.

now i wanna settle the obvious, does anyone think there could have been a wire that wasnt plugged back in or something?

Last edited by the_dood; 08-27-2009 at 01:40 PM.
the_dood is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 08:03 AM
  #12  
gregk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

can someone explain what the 3rd gear synchro problem is about. I'm having difficulties with my 3rd gear. Is it still on warranty ?

2003 G35 coupe 6MT
gregk is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:02 AM
  #13  
binder
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terre haute, IN; STL, MO
Posts: 6,457
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gregk View Post
can someone explain what the 3rd gear synchro problem is about. I'm having difficulties with my 3rd gear. Is it still on warranty ?

2003 G35 coupe 6MT
it's good for 6 years and 60k miles or somewhere in there. The service department should be able to tell you if you give them your VIN.

So depending on when yours was made it might still be covered if you are under mileage.

The issues are grinding into 3rd gear and sometimes 5th gear. Sometimes it won't even allow you to select those gears at all.
binder is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 11:40 AM
  #14  
my-red-pony
Newbie
iTrader: (2)
 
my-red-pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bay area CA
Posts: 69
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Kin***** View Post
i don't know. I was reading some guys saying that the new cd009 tranny eliminates that problem entirely
I took my stock tranny in to Nissan and they did my 3rd gear, 3 months later I swapped it for a cd009. Haven’t had a problem with the cd009- IMO the cd009 is a much better tranny.



-OP, Lack of power could be due to the new clutch/flywheel. When they are worn almost to the end it seems faster because there is a little bit less centrifugal weight. could be wrong but that’s just my .02

Last edited by my-red-pony; 12-27-2009 at 11:43 AM.
my-red-pony is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 10:37 PM
  #15  
mcsoap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oahu
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

syncros require friction to move, so the more frictions that is applied the faster its gonna wear, due to some bad shifts into 3rd gear, my 3rd gear syncros are starting to.
mcsoap is offline  
Old 04-14-2019, 03:13 PM
  #16  
fflipski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: WV
Posts: 53
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by the_dood View Post
got my car back today and i finally have a 3rd gear and a new clutch.

however, something happened either something is really fugged up or there is a sensor or something that is not plugged because i got no power. pedal to the metal and it hardly accelerates. there is a severe lack of power going on. is wasnt like this before i took it in to the shop for the third gear and i made sure he was aware of that too.

now i wanna settle the obvious, does anyone think there could have been a wire that wasnt plugged back in or something?
Check that the crank sensor is plugged in. In limp mode , it should throw codes. Sometimes shop forgot to align the flywheel and can throw a limp mode before it is realigned.

Get the shop to look at it
fflipski is offline  
Old 04-15-2019, 05:10 AM
  #17  
Painterguy39
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: minnesota
Posts: 84
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fflipski View Post
Check that the crank sensor is plugged in. In limp mode , it should throw codes. Sometimes shop forgot to align the flywheel and can throw a limp mode before it is realigned.

Get the shop to look at it
You do realize the OP hasnt been on here in 10 years,RIGHT?
Painterguy39 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
fflipski (04-15-2019)
Old 04-27-2019, 07:10 PM
  #18  
TRYNALIVEPRO
Registered User
iTrader: (12)
 
TRYNALIVEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ZOO YORK
Posts: 2,300
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Painterguy39 View Post
You do realize the OP hasnt been on here in 10 years,RIGHT?
😂😂😂, OP probably driving a ///M4 or something newer now a days....
TRYNALIVEPRO is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
XM 1
Engine & Drivetrain
25
02-10-2019 09:58 AM
sherm
Engine & Drivetrain
13
12-17-2018 07:29 PM
Obadabot
Maintenance & Repair
12
02-26-2017 06:02 PM
Conway_160
Drag
3
09-29-2015 08:07 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Getting 3rd gear syncro repaired...thoughts on time it will last?


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: