Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

throttle body idle adjustment screw!!!

Old 09-15-2010, 03:42 PM
  #1  
midz350
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
midz350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: around.
Posts: 4,048
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Default throttle body idle adjustment screw!!!

I found this in the Haltech forum:

I would have to agree that 80% of the idle problems with 350z's is due to tuner error. I have gotten 3 NA 350z's to idle perfectly and everyone required tweaking in the various maps so no 2 cars are the same. Also in one case because it was a turbo car and the injectors were large (1000cc) getting it to idle was very difficult. The 2004 throttle body does not have a way of manually adjusting idle so you have to either modify the air bypass or replace it with a newer throttle body (i have used 2010 model) which has an idle adjustment screw under a small plastic cap.

When you go to the dealer and ask for a new Throttle body for the 350z they give you one with the adjustment screw. I think that nissan updated all throttle bodies to have this screw now. I check with the shop tuner and he said that he went to the dealer and got a 2005+ throttle body and it had the adjustment screw. I know i said 2010 in my old post i just assumed he meant 2010 when he said current model. When i go to the shop in the next few days i will try and take a pic of the throttle body with the adjustment screw.
Anyone know anything about this (I couldn't find anything about it in the FSM)
midz350 is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:13 PM
  #2  
amr_electron
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
amr_electron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Earth
Posts: 337
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

The screw is there, It will decide how much the butterfly is opened with the accelerator pedal released ( at idle ) .

If you noticed, The butterfly is not fully closed at any time. you can fully close the butterfly if you turn the screw counterclockwise or increase the idle air if you turn it clockwise .
amr_electron is offline  
Old 09-16-2010, 02:51 PM
  #3  
binder
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terre haute, IN; STL, MO
Posts: 6,457
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

anyone have a pic of this? there is a setscrew that has a nut around it and a white paint. I don't think this is an adjustment screw though. I'm too nervous to mess with it. There's no cap over it though.
binder is offline  
Old 09-16-2010, 08:48 PM
  #4  
amr_electron
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
amr_electron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Earth
Posts: 337
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by binder View Post
anyone have a pic of this?
Here is a shot from my TB when i was diagnosing it. You can see the screw pretty clear.

amr_electron is offline  
Old 09-17-2010, 06:54 AM
  #5  
binder
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terre haute, IN; STL, MO
Posts: 6,457
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

ah, i see now. So i have to take off the plastic cover to get to it.
binder is offline  
Old 09-17-2010, 07:06 AM
  #6  
ashtrojan2008
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 358
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

good to know! thanks
ashtrojan2008 is offline  
Old 09-17-2010, 07:52 AM
  #7  
midz350
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
midz350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: around.
Posts: 4,048
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

So, I can manually adjusting the idle with this screw?
midz350 is offline  
Old 09-17-2010, 02:36 PM
  #8  
binder
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terre haute, IN; STL, MO
Posts: 6,457
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

hmm, so this would do the same thing as the people that drill out their throttlebody plate. This is awsome. I wish i would have known this before my car was flashed for 1050rpm idle. I'd love to idle lower.
binder is offline  
Old 09-17-2010, 04:41 PM
  #9  
ZEDCAR TT
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I discovered this a few months ago when I was pulling down a spare throttle body that had seen some water and needed cleaning out. I haven't tried it yet but I wouldn't be surprised if the factory ECU throws a CEL as it can't achieve the target idle (ie idling much higher than target idle).

I'm going to give it a go though as my idle has been bumped to 900rpm with the consult but I still get an occasional stall due to the cams and lightened flywheel.

Hopefully as I probably only need another 100 or so rpm it will be ok.
ZEDCAR TT is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 02:38 AM
  #10  
josenq06
Registered User
 
josenq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 33
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aem ems

I have a AEM EMS for my Z with a turbonetics kit installed and tuned. Would adjusting my idle screw mess up my tune?
josenq06 is offline  
Old 05-26-2017, 10:09 PM
  #11  
Sokmarg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by amr_electron View Post
Here is a shot from my TB when i was diagnosing it. You can see the screw pretty clear.

picture 404d for me. is it the screw on top of the TB with the white paint? sorry for digging up an old thread, cant find anything else on this
Sokmarg is offline  
Old 02-25-2018, 10:55 AM
  #12  
Elhuevo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: California
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by midz350 View Post
I found this in the Haltech forum:


Anyone know anything about this (I couldn't find anything about it in the FSM)
I know wich screw u talking about ,it has Withe paint around ,if u move it u going to feel the car diferent on every time from shifting one gear to other , Depend how u move it ,longs gears or short gear.
Elhuevo is offline  
Old 02-26-2018, 06:21 AM
  #13  
travlee
Master
iTrader: (8)
 
travlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 37,918
Received 5,978 Likes on 4,126 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Elhuevo View Post
I know wich screw u talking about ,it has Withe paint around ,if u move it u going to feel the car diferent on every time from shifting one gear to other , Depend how u move it ,longs gears or short gear.
you do realize that you responded to a 7.5 year old post dont ya?


travlee is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: throttle body idle adjustment screw!!!


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: