Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Oil consumption fixes.

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2016, 12:38 PM
allmycarsdie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil consumption fixes.

Ive seen tons of oil burning on here but never any solution posts. My problem has gotten to the point where fixing it is going to be worth the time and effort in the coming months. With my job I can't really be out of the car for more than a week and I can't just ditch the Z because I just bought it less than a year ago. My options, with my budget as I see are as follows.

1. Buy a used engine, drop around 1.5k and .5k fixing the minor issues used engines have. Problem is I'm not experienced with that. I'm confident in my ability to do the swap but not very quickly.

2. Buy new heads, drop $500 on rebuilt ones with all parts, drop $750 on gaskets, timing chain, other things that should be replaced.

3. Hope I'm right that it's just the valve seals and swap those along with the timing chain for around $400.

4. Find some cheap piece of sh** car that runs and surrender my Z plates while still making payments on it and selling my body on the streets in an effort to one day fix my Z with the cost of another car.

5. Pray to the japanese gods that my engine lasts long enough for me to just save enough to fully build my ran to hell engine in say a year.

None of these seem to have the pros outweighing the cons at all. The cheaper fixes still leave me with a 150k mile bottom end that might be drinking nearly as much oil as my top end and the expensive fixes are well, timely and expensive. If I eat ramen everyday I can manage to save about $550 a month and I currently have 1k.

Anyone have any experience or advice?

Last edited by allmycarsdie; 02-13-2016 at 07:49 PM.
Old 02-12-2016, 03:25 PM
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 1,292 Likes on 896 Posts