Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

LSD Upgrade for Base Model Open Diff

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2016, 02:24 PM
nickpin12

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LSD Upgrade for Base Model Open Diff

Hey all,
I just bought a 2008 base model with the open differential. I am thinking about upgrading to a lsd, either out of a higher trim model 350 or an aftermarket company. 1.5 way seems best for me but I am not an expert in any way on differentials so if anyone could please offer advise on the swap that would be helpful.

Thanks
Nick

Last edited by nickpin12; 03-25-2016 at 02:25 PM. Reason: wanted to add a thanks
Old 03-25-2016, 06:39 PM
dboyzalter
6 inch cawk is my fave!

Received 972 Likes on 759 Posts

If you have a 6 speed your best bet is find a 370z 6 speed rear diff because it has a little better gears... Other then that z1 has lots of options for you... Check them out.
Old 03-25-2016, 06:41 PM
dboyzalter
6 inch cawk is my fave!

https://www.z1motorsports.com/transm...al-p-9075.html

The Bears
Old 03-25-2016, 08:25 PM
NiLL

Received 47 Likes on 31 Posts

VSLD = 30% locking, doesn't like to lock all the time. Better than open but not that great. can be overpowered. IMO if you can get one for like 200 bucks, do it its worth it, but if you are spending like 500+ install price, just save and get a real LSD.

Helictical = 50/50% locking (up too) No parts to wear out, acts as an open diff if one tire is in the air. IMO the best for set and forget, it works nothing to replace other than occasional fluid changes.(Quaife)

Clutch type = Adjustable, Clutch packs can wear. IMO this is best if you are racing seriously and need to control the power at a more fine level. (Nismo GT Pro, OS Giken)
Old 03-25-2016, 08:34 PM
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 2,284 Likes on 1,646 Posts

Aftermarket diff is night and day over the 2 stock systems.
Old 03-25-2016, 10:07 PM
dcains

Received 435 Likes on 342 Posts

Originally Posted by NiLL