Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Flywheel research...anyone know about RPS Flywheel

Old 07-20-2004, 12:16 PM
goldndwgz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flywheel research...anyone know about RPS Flywheel

Dealer is replacing my trans and I wanted to know which is better the JWT(14lbs) or RPS(18lbs) flywheel? would you guys leave the clutch and pressure plate assy...car has 6k miles...looking for your guys expertise
Old 07-20-2004, 12:45 PM
NismoKid

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm not an expert on flywheels, but I've heard a lot of praise about the JWT flywheel and clutch combo. I don't know if you can use the stock clutch though, but I think you might be able to (don't quote me on this). If you're looking from a purely scientific standpoint and assuming both diameters of the flywheel are the same, the JWT is the better choice. There's less rotational mass so the engine will be able to rev faster (JWT also makes a lot of good products so we know a lot of R&D has gone into it). Good luck!
Old 07-20-2004, 05:46 PM
jreiter

I have the JWT flywheel with the stock clutch. Works great! My opinion is if you're not going to do forced induction save your money and keep the stock clutch... especially people with very few miles on their stock clutch. The only serious benefit an aftermarket clutch will give you is additional clamping force, but if you're not going to need it... why spend the money?

However, I've been told the Nismo clutch is a pound or two lighter than the stock clutch, while the JWT unit is about the same weight as the stock clutch. So if you need the additional clamping force of an aftermarket clutch, the Nismo clutch might drop another couple of pounds over the JWT clutch. (That's just what I'm told.)
Old 07-20-2004, 07:52 PM
Jason@Performance
Sponsor
Performance Nissan

lighter = better
less rotational mass = acceleration horse power
when the rotational mass is moved to the inside of the flywheel = the moment of inertia is decreased