Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Raced my Z in a remote parking lot and did time trials. advice?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2004, 09:37 PM
phile

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raced my Z in a remote parking lot and did time trials. advice?

My buddy just got an 04 EVO8, so he's been dying to find a parking lot and practice for autoX. We find one and make a course around it. It's a small course, but kind of tough. It wasn't just an oval. The first turn was really sharp. I stayed in second gear the whole time (to give you an idea of how small it is). I think my top speed was maybe 46. I have no track experience at all and I must say RWD is kind of tricky at first! Alot harder it seems than AWD. I've taken many spirited country drives in my Z, but they hardly compared to this (and this was coparitively MUCH slower). We did 5 laps around the small course and had one hotlap. I didn't take full advantage of the hotlap until later runs. I realized how crucial it was. We took two practice runs and two legitimate runs. My lap times really improved when I basically learned (on my third try) that I needed to drift my Z around turn 3 and 4! Below is our comparative runs:

350z---------EVO8
p: 1:26:21------1:18:26
p: 1:20:38------1:17:42
1: 1:18:50------1:16:13
2: 1:18:50---------*

My buddy's last run got stopped prematurely because someone pulled into the lot :P He was on par for a sub 1:16 run.