Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Supercharge? Or Wait for ECU Possibility?

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2004, 01:01 PM
dimebagdolf

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Supercharge? Or Wait for ECU Possibility?

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here. I really enjoy this site. TONS of info.

I've been cruising for info regarding supercharger options. While doing so, I stumbled across a thread that mentioned something about the 350Z being tuned down to 287hp. That there is a possiblity of 330hp lurking with a mere ECU swap.

I'm wondering if there is any validity to this?

Also, I'm looking for advise on superchargers. I've looked at this board, articles from Sport Compact Car, Road and Track, Sport Z, etc.

I'm open to just about anything right now. I want a bump in power, but I need to stay smog exempt. And I'm in no rush so I can wait for pending CARB approvals. I want reliability and longevity more than anything. I want to keep the car as stock as possible. From what I'm seeing Stillen seems to be the front runner when considering my application, but I wanted to get your thoughts on the options.

HKS
Vortech
ATI
Dreamworkes

Any input/advise is most appreciated.

PEACE!

Adolfo
Old 11-12-2004, 01:24 PM
teh215

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

330 at the crank is doable with bolt-ons and ECU. I doubt you could get that to the wheels with bolt-ins though. If you want bang for the buck get the Vortech and leave the Fuel/Timing tune alone and you will be very close to that at the wheels. Last I heard Vortech is pending CARB approval. The Stillen unit already is but, you going to spend alot more to get CLOSE to that power level.
Old 11-12-2004, 01:32 PM
zland
Sponsor
Sport Z Magazine

Received 47 Likes on 35 Posts

You will get less than 10hp for ECU reflash. Stillen is only one CARB exempt at this point. APS and others state they are planning to thru the process to get CARB but at this point it is Stillen that has it.