Notices

DIY: Spark Plugs Change (HUGE Pics)

Old 06-09-2009, 08:17 AM
  #41  
tylerxfire
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
tylerxfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 3,817
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by iamshadow View Post
changed plugs many a times. did one at a time, no mix ups there. everything is clipped tightly.

and im refering to a rough-ish idle. well not really rough, but it feels like a misfire as stated earlier

idk sounds like what my car did when i changed my plugs and didnt have one of the clips in all the way...clipped it in and problem was solved..
tylerxfire is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 02:48 PM
  #42  
killerbee
Registered User
iTrader: (34)
 
killerbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austin,Texas
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i just finished putting my iradium spark plugs, very easy to do. Not really a pain. You just have to remove some harness brackets to make some room for the coils to come out. Don't get discouraged

p.s. took me less than 1.5 hours
killerbee is offline  
Old 08-09-2009, 11:54 AM
  #43  
ken brown
Registered User
 
ken brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: richmond va
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

took me two days,,, sun got too hot,,, as hard as I tried I had the middle and rear plug on the left bank backwards, I paniced and called my son. he's a bmw tec. wow three mins he had it figured out. Can't beat a man at his own trade. But now I know why he dont wanna do **** on cars when he gets off work..
ken brown is offline  
Old 09-06-2009, 07:51 PM
  #44  
johndoesdamage
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 267
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just changed mine today car is a 05 at with 48k car had oil on threading and some on the plug.What does this mean?
johndoesdamage is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 01:48 PM
  #45  
White0ngold
Registered User
iTrader: (12)
 
White0ngold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 672
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

ok i have an 04 with 53k miles..im in the process of changing my spark plugs and rightnow when i took off the spark plugs from i believe its cylinder #4&#6 which is on the drivers side..the spark plugs were covered in oil..now i know this isnt good but i dont know how bad this can be??? can it just be the seals?
White0ngold is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 05:25 PM
  #46  
tylerxfire
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
tylerxfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 3,817
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by White0ngold View Post
ok i have an 04 with 53k miles..im in the process of changing my spark plugs and rightnow when i took off the spark plugs from i believe its cylinder #4 which is on the drivers side..the spark plugs were covered in oil..now i know this isnt good but i dont know how bad this can be??? can it just be the seals?
use the search theres a bunch of information on this, the seals cannot just be replaced, you must replace the valve covers i beleive, like i said search it...put new plugs in and deal with it, is that the first time the plugs ever been changed?
tylerxfire is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 02:45 PM
  #47  
SLIdEwAyZ25
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: jacksonville
Posts: 353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rcdash View Post
What about orienting the spark plug so that it fires towards the exhaust valve is it? What is that procedure called? Adding shims of varying thickness to get it torqued down all facing a certain orientation...

Anyway, my question is where does one get the spark plug shims of varying thickness and how does one orient the spark plug (i.e. which way should it face)?
most likely you won't gain any hp or anything (i could be wronge)

but indexing is mostly used in engines that have such tight valve clearence and piston pop up that you would turn the plug away from the intake valves so they would not contact the plug when the valves are opening.
SLIdEwAyZ25 is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 01:27 PM
  #48  
LegionnaireZ
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
LegionnaireZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,274
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

just did mine... for no reason really... other than a desire to do it... and per your torque specs...

DAMN!!! 65-90ft.lbs on the bolt that holds the coil pack on??? i dont even torque my wheels to 90... so i went with 65 and still got to sheepish to torque that hard on a 10MM bolt. so i backed off of it... i'll be damned if i'm snapping a bolt.

20ft.lbs was good though, just enough where you can feel the crush washer was flushed out and then tightened properly... good job.
LegionnaireZ is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 02:58 PM
  #49  
3hree5ive0ero
`.,,.*`.,,.*~[;::;]ᵒᴥᵒ)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (95)
 
3hree5ive0ero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Dallas / Chicago
Posts: 1,337,017,830
Received 75 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

Anthony, you read my directions wrong:

4.) Install the new spark plug and torque it down to 15-21 ft-lb (180-252 in-lb).
[no pic]

5.) Install the coil pack and torque the bolts down to 64-95 in-lb (5.33-7.2 ft-lb).
[no pic]


I triple checked that before creating this thread and I always refer back to this thread for torque settings when changing out plugs for the Zs.
3hree5ive0ero is offline  
Old 04-26-2010, 09:06 AM
  #50  
LegionnaireZ
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
LegionnaireZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,274
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

ahh... i sure did... lol.. thanks... i'll remember that next time... so far i think my arm torque meter worked ok for now...
LegionnaireZ is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 03:02 PM
  #51  
sinasajadi
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: san diego
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

how am I supposed to pull out the old spark plugs? my socket isnt magnetic. Do I need a magnetic one to pull them out once Ive already unscrewed them?
sinasajadi is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 05:04 PM
  #52  
3hree5ive0ero
`.,,.*`.,,.*~[;::;]ᵒᴥᵒ)
Thread Starter
iTrader: (95)
 
3hree5ive0ero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Dallas / Chicago
Posts: 1,337,017,830
Received 75 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

^
Did you read the first post?


3.) Insert the spark plug socket (5/8" or 16mm) with a long extension in the hole the coilpack was in. It should be removed with little effort.
http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g3...s/DSC01169.jpg
http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g3...s/DSC01166.jpg
3hree5ive0ero is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 04:52 PM
  #53  
FastWhiteZ
Registered User
 
FastWhiteZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I changed my plugs the other day following this DIY. It is spot on, my only mess up was when I plugged the coil packs back and finished. I turned the car on and had a very rough idle and the SES light on. I went back to check my work and noticed that I switched the connectors to the two coil packs closest to the driver. I fixed it, but now i have the SES light on and it won't shut off even after the reset is performed. It shows a misfire but it runs perfectly since I switched the connectors back. Will the SES light go away on its own or do I need to go to the stealership and pay $100 for them to shut it off?
FastWhiteZ is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 05:14 PM
  #54  
BonesZ33
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
BonesZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 797
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FastWhiteZ View Post
I changed my plugs the other day following this DIY. It is spot on, my only mess up was when I plugged the coil packs back and finished. I turned the car on and had a very rough idle and the SES light on. I went back to check my work and noticed that I switched the connectors to the two coil packs closest to the driver. I fixed it, but now i have the SES light on and it won't shut off even after the reset is performed. It shows a misfire but it runs perfectly since I switched the connectors back. Will the SES light go away on its own or do I need to go to the stealership and pay $100 for them to shut it off?
disconnect the battery for over an hour
BonesZ33 is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 05:30 PM
  #55  
FastWhiteZ
Registered User
 
FastWhiteZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I did, over night and just came back. I went to discount autoparts and got the light shut off but it came back.
FastWhiteZ is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 05:35 PM
  #56  
BonesZ33
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
BonesZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 797
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FastWhiteZ View Post
I did, over night and just came back. I went to discount autoparts and got the light shut off but it came back.
Than you still have a missfire.
BonesZ33 is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 05:44 PM
  #57  
FastWhiteZ
Registered User
 
FastWhiteZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I was hoping it wasn't since it was running great.
FastWhiteZ is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 05:52 PM
  #58  
BonesZ33
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
BonesZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 797
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FastWhiteZ View Post
I was hoping it wasn't since it was running great.
sometimes it can be a very minor one... check if all the coils are clean and clear, and pushed in all the way.. is it a specific one?? example.. if your code is p0301 (cylinder 1 misfire).. Switch the coil with cylinder three and see if the code changes to p0303.. If so the coil is bad, if not check the correct installation of the spark plug, and coil connector. Good luck

Last edited by BonesZ33; 09-18-2010 at 05:55 PM.
BonesZ33 is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 05:55 PM
  #59  
FastWhiteZ
Registered User
 
FastWhiteZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanx, will do.

* I think is P0305 or P0306. The one I mixed the harness up and later fixed.

Last edited by FastWhiteZ; 09-18-2010 at 05:58 PM.
FastWhiteZ is offline  
Old 09-22-2010, 04:22 PM
  #60  
burubuduy
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: LA
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

facing the car. where is cylinder 4 located?
burubuduy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: DIY: Spark Plugs Change (HUGE Pics)


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: