Notices

"HOW TO" VDC Fully Disabled Button

Old 09-02-2012, 03:07 AM
  #21  
Scrildo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Some good info in here wow I'm late lol
Scrildo is offline  
Old 03-28-2015, 01:37 PM
  #22  
cristian92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

#46 for some extra HP
Attached Thumbnails "HOW TO" VDC Fully Disabled Button-image.jpg  
cristian92 is offline  
Old 10-27-2017, 07:02 AM
  #23  
Ivan Trevizo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: albquerque
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Can you help me locate the YAW rate g sensor in my 2004 350z? My number is 5053395126
Ivan Trevizo is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:34 PM
  #24  
Franknbeans
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Franknbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North of Pitt. PA
Posts: 289
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

I've read most every post on this topic. I wonder, wouldn't it be a lot easier if I just put a switch on the VDC pulling the ground wire? If I have the option, I always put a switch inline with the ground wire instead of the hot wire. There's less of a chance for something to get fried.
Franknbeans is offline  
Old 02-03-2018, 05:21 PM
  #25  
fastfast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: CA
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by surfo View Post
Yes thanks!, but on that write up you CUT the wire! and I donīt like cutting oem wires. So I decided to add a separated harness and make this fully reversible with no damage at all to oem parts.

Iīm working on getting a new OEM VDC button, so this VDC Full Off mod has a OEM switch, and since just cuting for a fraction of a second the G sensor signal will keep VDC Fully dissabled until you turn off and on the cars ignition, there is no need for a fully on/off switch, just a push button. and there is no better push button than a oem one that can be fitter just next to the VDC stock one. And I will design a decal or something like DANGER or RACE MODE for it
Hey surfo did you ever end up swapping switches for a OEM VDC switch? Been trying to figure out how to wire up an OEM switch for this and know little about how they work. There are 4 pins on the switch (see photo). I figured 1 and 2 were power in/out, but when connected and pressed an "ABS" light flashes on the dash and nothing changes (nothing happens after powering the car off then back on). Can anyone help me make sense of the diagram? Thanks
Attached Thumbnails "HOW TO" VDC Fully Disabled Button-screen-shot-2018-01-31-at-9.55.31-pm.png  
fastfast is offline  
Old 02-03-2018, 05:29 PM
  #26  
Franknbeans
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Franknbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North of Pitt. PA
Posts: 289
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

So I jumped on ebay and bought a seat heater switch in loo of the VDC switch. I couldn't find a VDC switch with the plug also.
(switch came from a G35)


I grabbed my wire tester and started poking at the wires to see what ones are connected when the switch is on / off.


The future plan.

1. paint the switch. Color, unsure... red?
2. Insert the switch in the middle of the seat heater switches. There's a blank there, I hope it fits proper.
3. Cut the GROUND wire to the YAW/VDC module that's in the center console and connect it to the switch via the Yellow and Black wires. So with the switch on the UP position, the ground would be working as normal. When the switch is off (Middle) or on the low heat seating the ground will be pulled, thus disabling the VDC fully.

I know this doesn't help you out with your switch, but I figured this would be a back up plan for you.
Franknbeans is offline  
Old 03-21-2018, 03:05 PM
  #27  
06platinumG
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Tacoma
Posts: 243
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

OK, I'm about to do this and have a though and would like some feed back. I'm going to splice into the power line for the Yaw sensor and connect an on/off switch. I was thinking I would use the factory VDC switch on the dash. Disconnect the factory wires from the switch and slice them together, then connect the wires from the yaw sensor to the switch. This would then mean VDC is on or fully off and I would lose the partial off function that comes from the factory.

Does anyone see and issue with bypassing the factory function?
06platinumG is offline  
Old 03-21-2018, 03:13 PM
  #28  
Franknbeans
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Franknbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North of Pitt. PA
Posts: 289
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

I didn't mess with the power wire. You can achieve the same effect by using the ground wire and not chance blowing a fuse or the yaw sensor. I ended up using the seat heater switch because I wasn't sure if the VDC switch had two wires that were a consent ON. I did end up buying a 350z seat heater switch because I didn't like the Full VDC (blue) switch not matching the others. To me, this is the simplest way to do it.

Franknbeans is offline  
Old 03-21-2018, 04:45 PM
  #29  
06platinumG
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Tacoma
Posts: 243
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Well I can add a new switch but thought just using the factory VDC would be the cleanest look. I haven't p pulled the plug yet to see if it's just two wires. I don't care if I have the factory partial off option if I have full off.

Yea, the ground wire would be best. Need to figure out which wire that is.
06platinumG is offline  
Old 03-21-2018, 06:02 PM
  #30  
06platinumG
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Tacoma
Posts: 243
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Well the factory VDC switch has four wires so I will need to find a wiring diagram to figure out what they all are
06platinumG is offline  
Old 03-22-2018, 05:45 AM
  #31  
Franknbeans
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Franknbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North of Pitt. PA
Posts: 289
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

What i ended up doing was getting a electronic multi-reader and touching pins until I found two that where connected.

If you plan on removing the stock VDC, you need to do some research in the wiring to see if you need to cut and splice wires together once the switch is unplugged. (Does unplugging the switch light up any lights on the dash?)
Franknbeans is offline  
Old 03-25-2018, 11:52 AM
  #32  
06platinumG
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Tacoma
Posts: 243
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Well I got it done but ended up using a separate switch since I couldn't determine what the wires connected to the factory switch were.

Also I found out that disabling the yaw sensor you also loose RAS as that light along with the slip and VDC light are on now.
06platinumG is offline  
Old 03-25-2018, 02:42 PM
  #33  
Franknbeans
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Franknbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North of Pitt. PA
Posts: 289
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

RAS? The only light I have on when the switch is flipped is the Slip and VDC
Franknbeans is offline  
Old 03-25-2018, 02:46 PM
  #34  
06platinumG
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Tacoma
Posts: 243
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Well if you don't have RAS (Rear Active Steer) you wouldn't get the light
06platinumG is offline  
Old 03-25-2018, 02:47 PM
  #35  
Franknbeans
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Franknbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North of Pitt. PA
Posts: 289
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

YEah, no clue what that was nor the 350 had rear steering.
Franknbeans is offline  
Old 03-25-2018, 02:50 PM
  #36  
06platinumG
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Tacoma
Posts: 243
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Don't if it was an option on the Z but it was on the G and then only a few cars were ordered with it.
06platinumG is offline  
Old 03-25-2018, 07:23 PM
  #37  
MicVelo
350Z/370Z Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM
 
MicVelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 7,188
Received 2,041 Likes on 1,466 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 06platinumG View Post
Don't if it was an option on the Z but it was on the G and then only a few cars were ordered with it.
HICAS was never an option on Z33, thankfully. Z32 and Infiniti only.
MicVelo is online now  
Old 03-25-2018, 08:10 PM
  #38  
06platinumG
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Tacoma
Posts: 243
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Why do you say "thankfully"?
06platinumG is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 10:14 AM
  #39  
KRK.Z33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: MD
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Should an 03 Enthusiast have a yaw/g rate sensor? I apologize in advance if there is a thread on this elsewhere or if I missed something on here.
I just swapped out my VLSD for a welded and had planned on wiring up a switch to have the option to disable VDC/TCS/ABS etc
I removed my center console to see that there was no sensor.. will TCS off disable everything besides ABS?
KRK.Z33 is offline  
Old 09-10-2018, 03:56 PM
  #40  
Desert Z
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Desert Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 127
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by KRK.Z33 View Post
Should an 03 Enthusiast have a yaw/g rate sensor? I apologize in advance if there is a thread on this elsewhere or if I missed something on here.
I just swapped out my VLSD for a welded and had planned on wiring up a switch to have the option to disable VDC/TCS/ABS etc
I removed my center console to see that there was no sensor.. will TCS off disable everything besides ABS?
Yours does not have VDC lucky bastard.
Desert Z is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: "HOW TO" VDC Fully Disabled Button


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: