Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

vortech and 2.87

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2007, 06:13 PM
Bwicked

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default vortech and 2.87

Hey guys, I was wondering that If i go and put the 2.87 pulley on my vortech would it be a big problem on stock block? I guess my main concern is fuel?

Following mods are :
Cams
SSV
Headers
Test pipes
Custom exhaust
Unortho pulleys
1 step colder NGK's
Vortech kit with 3.12 pulley
I've been running the car like this for over 4 months and about 5-6k miles . Not a single problem at all.

I want the 2.87 pulley with a nice Safe tune from GRD. just wondering what you guys think? Thanks! Also any acc's for the vortech to help belt slip or for more power?

Btw I plan on gettting a built motor this summer, but I don't want to blow this one lol.
Old 01-17-2007, 06:25 PM
Bwicked

Btw, Do i need another belt for this pulley? and reccomendations on sizes/ brands? thanks!
Old 01-17-2007, 06:32 PM
dimebagdolf

You'll want to upgrade to a CJM fuel return system for sure.

I'm thinking about just going to the 3.12 myself and my shop recommended upgrading my fuel system. And you'll need a shorter belt anytime you go with a smaller pulley.

I think Sentry 65 is running the 2.87 pulley on a stock block in the hot southwest and he seems to be doing well.

SUBSCRIBING
Old 01-17-2007, 07:54 PM
imalazeeass

an upgraded fuel system is not really necessary for the 3.12 is it? I guess it doesn't hurt though.. and by fuel system you mean an upgraded pump right?
Old 01-17-2007, 07:56 PM
Bwicked