Automatic Transmission Problems !!!Help!!! - MY350Z.COM Forums



Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2010, 10:58 PM   #1
me1109
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chula Vista, Socal,California
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Automatic Transmission Problems !!!Help!!!

Ok I already know my first bad move here was getting a auto but putting that aside I want my car to run right...

So I got my '05 auto 350z about two years ago and put about 40,000 miles on it then desired to super charge it... and so I did and it was great dyno'ed 400hp whp had it for 40 mile then threw in a reworked Stillen valve body found out that was faulty and got a new one for free from Stillen for free but now 1500 miles later the Z keeps going into a can bus u1000 code and puts me into a limp home mode with the service engine soon light on and it doesnt give me top gear... So I limp home my car and let it cool down and reset the ECU... but now when I first start up in the morning it the car gets stuck in 1st gear and I haft to restart the car three time to get it to go in to normal auto mode... at first I thought it was low on tranny fluid and it was and I filled it back up but its still doing it... Help? please?

List of mods :

Engine / Drive train:
Procharger super charger inter cooler kit 7psi
Cosworth plenum
150 shot NOS kit (never used)
engine oil cooler
tranny cooler
38mm radiator and matching fan shroud
Samco hose kit
m/t dif pumpkin with cusco rs 1.5 lsd

suspension:
Tein mono flexs
cusco camber kit front rear
GT Spec braces everything they make for the 350z

brakes:
Stoptech 6 piston front
Stoptech 4 piston rear

wheels tires:
track ed. wheels
Toyo r888's 255/40/18 295/30/19

interior:
6 point AUTOPOWER role cage
Works Bell paddle shifters

So Please Help!
me1109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 04:00 AM   #2
ashtrojan2008
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 358
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

when were the paddle shifters installed?

I think somewhere there was a tsb for u1000. Something to do with a ground. I'd check all of your grounds on your harness and clean any contacts that may be faulty.

ross
ashtrojan2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 04:24 AM   #3
Z04
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
Z04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Clarksville, Tennessee
Posts: 6,659
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

shifting issues are a mechanical problem. I see you stated you had low fluid. I would suspect the valve upgrade if you said you got the fluid correct.
Z04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 04:40 AM   #4
ashtrojan2008
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 358
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z04 View Post
shifting issues are a mechanical problem. I see you stated you had low fluid. I would suspect the valve upgrade if you said you got the fluid correct.
limp mode, many times, is not

what op is describing is not mechanical. he says its electronically not going out of 1'st, i.e. triptronic won't shift. him restarting the car shouldn't fix a mechanical problem.

i don't have an auto but i imagine it wouldn't want to shift correctly in limp mode anyway

let us know what happens op

ross
ashtrojan2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 04:50 AM   #5
rcdash
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
rcdash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 6,372
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Default

The transmission is toast - trust me. You need a full rebuild. Clutches are burnt. Sorry man . If you let the fluid get low, it's all over. I also got the CAN communication error code when the trans couldn't shift into gear. Now you can build it for big power! My GTM-5AT has served me well ~500 wtq for past couple years...

Last edited by rcdash; 05-07-2010 at 05:07 AM.
rcdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 05:31 AM   #6
SlideFox
Registered User
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

LOL @ RC getting right to the point!!
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 06:52 AM   #7
djamps
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
djamps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 4,492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdash View Post
The transmission is toast - trust me. You need a full rebuild. Clutches are burnt. Sorry man . If you let the fluid get low, it's all over. I also got the CAN communication error code when the trans couldn't shift into gear. Now you can build it for big power! My GTM-5AT has served me well ~500 wtq for past couple years...
+1, sounds like your tranny is burnt toast.
djamps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 07:56 AM   #8
me1109
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chula Vista, Socal,California
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z04 View Post
shifting issues are a mechanical problem. I see you stated you had low fluid. I would suspect the valve upgrade if you said you got the fluid correct.
nope the whole harness was checked when stillen screwed up the last valve body

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z04 View Post
shifting issues are a mechanical problem. I see you stated you had low fluid. I would suspect the valve upgrade if you said you got the fluid correct.
it has a brand new valve body in it... stillen payed for a new one

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdash View Post
The transmission is toast - trust me. You need a full rebuild. Clutches are burnt. Sorry man . If you let the fluid get low, it's all over. I also got the CAN communication error code when the trans couldn't shift into gear. Now you can build it for big power! My GTM-5AT has served me well ~500 wtq for past couple years...
Thats what I feared i just wanted to make sure there wasnt a some simple problem before i committed my self to a tranny rebuild... btw how much did your rebuild cost?
me1109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 01:46 PM   #9
rcdash
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
rcdash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 6,372
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Default

The GTM-5AT from 2 yrs ago was one of the first level 3 upgrades they offered - I would PM [email protected] for a current price because mine included a reworked TC that probably you won't need. It wasn't cheap, but GTM stands behind their work and I'm very happy with it at these power levels.
rcdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 02:41 PM   #10
Elperuano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Davie
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdash View Post
The GTM-5AT from 2 yrs ago was one of the first level 3 upgrades they offered - I would PM [email protected] for a current price because mine included a reworked TC that probably you won't need. It wasn't cheap, but GTM stands behind their work and I'm very happy with it at these power levels.
hah love this answer
In other words, OPs in for a scare when he gets the pricing!
Elperuano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 04:26 PM   #11
me1109
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chula Vista, Socal,California
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elperuano View Post
hah love this answer
In other words, OPs in for a scare when he gets the pricing!
well screw Stillen its all their fault....

I talk to some one at GTM to day, actually just five minutes ago, and he said Sam would call me back tonight... i asume its going tobe like $3500-$4000 with core... but considering how much is in to it now $4k doesnt seem like a dig deal...

Last edited by me1109; 05-07-2010 at 09:54 PM.
me1109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 09:34 PM   #12
Elperuano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Davie
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hope u get it all sorted out... 3-4k fix? I'd start thinkin of turbo's at that price!
Elperuano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 09:54 PM   #13
me1109
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chula Vista, Socal,California
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elperuano View Post
Hope u get it all sorted out... 3-4k fix? I'd start thinkin of turbo's at that price!
yeah thats what it said on thier web site, and that would be sick if I got turbos but I do want a twin charge system I already have a super charger and I love how natural it feels threw the whole RPM range...
me1109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 07:07 AM   #14
abushong504
Registered User
iTrader: (87)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 942
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quick question. You said you had an aftermarket radiator. Do you still have the tranny lines going through the radiator? Or do you just have them going to your added tranny cooler?
abushong504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:46 AM   #15
thom000001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Also do a grounding kit of some sort.

The auto's almost seem to need a grounding kit.

Tom
thom000001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 09:16 AM   #16
hypeiv
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,942
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elperuano View Post
Hope u get it all sorted out... 3-4k fix? I'd start thinkin of turbo's at that price!
how would turbos fix his 5at?
hypeiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 03:57 PM   #17
me1109
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chula Vista, Socal,California
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abushong504 View Post
Quick question. You said you had an aftermarket radiator. Do you still have the tranny lines going through the radiator? Or do you just have them going to your added tranny cooler?
no the tranny lines go to a tranny cooler... it has a radiator for a manual 350z not a auto...
me1109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 03:58 PM   #18
me1109
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chula Vista, Socal,California
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypeiv View Post
how would turbos fix his 5at?
that what i would like to know
me1109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 04:00 PM   #19
me1109
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chula Vista, Socal,California
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by thom000001 View Post
Also do a grounding kit of some sort.

The auto's almost seem to need a grounding kit.

Tom
theres one sitting down at group 5 i may just go pick it up and install and pray that may help a little...
me1109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 09:22 PM   #20
Elperuano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Davie
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

turbo's wont fix his problem but it will definitely make more power than what he can make now... i mean if hes gonna rebuild the tranny might as well as aim high and not small y'know?
Elperuano is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
spec f tuning headlights Uriyo_ Exterior & Interior 21 11-06-2015 05:59 AM
Up to Date Coilover Review/Recommendations for a balance of track/drift/slam Lt_Ballzacki Brakes & Suspension 13 10-24-2015 08:56 AM
Breaking Lightly TDPrank Brakes & Suspension 5 09-28-2015 06:29 AM


Tags
1st, 2004, 350, 350z, automatic, correcting, gear, gtr, issues, nissan, problem, problems, stuck, trans, transmission, troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send