2018 Forced Induction VQ Tuning Thread - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

2018 Forced Induction VQ Tuning Thread

Reply

 
 
 
Old 07-03-2018, 02:38 PM
  #1  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 679
Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
Default 2018 Forced Induction VQ Tuning Thread

I thought it might be a good idea for us to have a central thread where we could discuss tuning for our turbocharged/supercharged VQ cars. Give us a spot to pool our collective knowledge/experience.

Ive predominately worked with ProEFI on a few VQs and Supras, a bit of familiarity with Haltech software too though.
Attached Thumbnails 2018 Forced Induction VQ Tuning Thread-g35_xact_dyno.jpg   2018 Forced Induction VQ Tuning Thread-350z_xact_dyno.jpg  

Last edited by thatv35guy; 07-03-2018 at 02:45 PM.
thatv35guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thatv35guy For This Useful Post:
bealljk (07-03-2018)
Old 07-03-2018, 03:29 PM
  #2  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 3,523
Thanked 316 Times in 272 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by thatv35guy View Post
Edit: Maybe we should have a new FI VQ tuning thread?
As to not hijack Silva's thread...Circa 2018 FI Tuning Thread

Originally Posted by TT03Z View Post
Another feature I'd like to figure out or see if the Haltech has is working on maps off line.
I think you can do this ... I open the software, open my map I want to modify (ie not in the car) make whatever changes, save the map and then go upload to the car and reset the ECU(Control + F12)...am I missing something?

Originally Posted by thatv35guy View Post
I know Haltech platinum's have coolant and air temp correction tables, there's also correction for ignition timing for coolant & air too. You should be able to tell real quick if those tables are populated.
Yeah, I have those for sure but nothing much fancier than that!


Originally Posted by thatv35guy View Post
I think there's a way to track the % of correction in the log too so you'll be able to see exactly what compensation your ECU's making. Think the channel is Fuel - Cool Temp Corr and Ignition - Cool Temp Corr, should give you a % value.

Edit: Maybe we should have a new FI VQ tuning thread?
I run a channel showing my O2 correction on my interface. I think you have to have Haltech's widebands installed for this to function as closed loop fuel control in conjunction with the target table.

I'll look for the Fuel/Ign - ECT Correction channel

Last edited by bealljk; 07-03-2018 at 03:38 PM.
bealljk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 04:18 PM
  #3  
meatbag
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
meatbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I run a Haltech platinum box on mine if anyone has questions.
meatbag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 05:43 PM
  #4  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 3,523
Thanked 316 Times in 272 Posts
Default

^whats your method for auto-datalogging? Do you use the haltech onboard system? If so, what do you use as the channel activation?

came across this...

Meatbag - so if I want to use on\board activation and I want it to start recording when I hit boost (ie 0psi manifold pressure) I select my activation for 'manifold pressure' at '0 psi' - is it safe to assume it'll record when manifold pressure is at 0 psi, and above 0 psi, and while I'm in boost and then it'll deactive once I drop below 0psi? (I thought I did this but my datalog didn't indicate this methodology) - much appreciated

Last edited by bealljk; 07-06-2018 at 11:37 AM.
bealljk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 08:36 AM
  #5  
meatbag
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
meatbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I use a laptop if im trying to datalog for any tuning, ill just use the onboard in a pinch. Channel activation will just depend on what im looking for. If its cruising stuff i usually use mph, if its at an event or racing, TPS or MAP or whatever turns it on when im trying to log a problem area.

Last edited by meatbag; 07-06-2018 at 08:41 AM.
meatbag is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to meatbag For This Useful Post:
bealljk (07-06-2018)
Old 07-11-2018, 11:41 AM
  #6  
TT03Z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Omaha
Posts: 312
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Well my data logging question has been answered thanks guys. I run an AEM wideband that I have wired from the sensor portion of the gauge to the ecu so I can monitor and log 02. Will that enable fuel correction if the ECU sees an 02 signal? Ill have to go through my fuel/ignition correction tables and see if theres even anything there. I've noticed my car struggles to idle when its warmer outside but A/F stays constant at 13.5-1. Also when its warmer the A/F is consistently .3 richer than when cooler. We tuned the car at 11.6 on pump93/110 mix. When its warmer I see 11.3-11.2. I'm going to guess that has everything to do with with fuel correction tables. Also Im getting to the point of wanting to do some boost by gear things. I have been using an AEM true boost gauge/controller which so far has been great. I have the Haltech aux plug wired for to control the AEM mac3 solenoid I just have to plug it in. So i know theres a open loop and closed loop function for boost control which one do i use for boost by gear?
TT03Z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 02:46 PM
  #7  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 679
Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TT03Z View Post
Well my data logging question has been answered thanks guys. I run an AEM wideband that I have wired from the sensor portion of the gauge to the ecu so I can monitor and log 02. Will that enable fuel correction if the ECU sees an 02 signal? Ill have to go through my fuel/ignition correction tables and see if theres even anything there. I've noticed my car struggles to idle when its warmer outside but A/F stays constant at 13.5-1. Also when its warmer the A/F is consistently .3 richer than when cooler. We tuned the car at 11.6 on pump93/110 mix. When its warmer I see 11.3-11.2. I'm going to guess that has everything to do with with fuel correction tables. Also Im getting to the point of wanting to do some boost by gear things. I have been using an AEM true boost gauge/controller which so far has been great. I have the Haltech aux plug wired for to control the AEM mac3 solenoid I just have to plug it in. So i know theres a open loop and closed loop function for boost control which one do i use for boost by gear?
As far as O2 Control, I think if you go to Setup/Main Setup/Advanced, under the 'Functions' column you should just have to click 'O2 Control'.

I'd log a quick pull from the bottom of third gear to redline with O2 Control disabled. Then enable O2 Control and and make another identical pull and see what the variance is between the two logs.

Log the percentage of correction too.

Last edited by thatv35guy; 07-11-2018 at 03:07 PM.
thatv35guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 06:55 PM
  #8  
TT03Z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Omaha
Posts: 312
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by thatv35guy View Post
As far as O2 Control, I think if you go to Setup/Main Setup/Advanced, under the 'Functions' column you should just have to click 'O2 Control'.

I'd log a quick pull from the bottom of third gear to redline with O2 Control disabled. Then enable O2 Control and and make another identical pull and see what the variance is between the two logs.

Log the percentage of correction too.
Thanks for the advice I will try that the next time I have the car out. Another thing I've been wondering...is it possible to work on fuel/timing ect. maps offline? Is that accessable through the data log veiwer? I will probably be switching to e85 pretty soon and would like to go through at least my fuel map and do the ethanol conversion in the comfort of my home instead of sweating my nuts off in the garage.
TT03Z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 08:01 AM
  #9  
meatbag
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
meatbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bealljk View Post
^whats your method for auto-datalogging? Do you use the haltech onboard system? If so, what do you use as the channel activation?

came across this...
https://youtu.be/njyf2FITzZs

Meatbag - so if I want to use on\board activation and I want it to start recording when I hit boost (ie 0psi manifold pressure) I select my activation for 'manifold pressure' at '0 psi' - is it safe to assume it'll record when manifold pressure is at 0 psi, and above 0 psi, and while I'm in boost and then it'll deactive once I drop below 0psi? (I thought I did this but my datalog didn't indicate this methodology) - much appreciated
Something else is keeping it from activating then
meatbag is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
V1P
Forced Induction
14
06-12-2012 08:38 AM
MIAPLAYA
Forced Induction
29
02-21-2012 08:55 PM
jining
Tuning
46
03-02-2010 01:45 PM
MI 35th
Forced Induction
44
06-11-2007 07:41 AM
Speedious
Forced Induction
1
08-13-2004 09:06 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2018 Forced Induction VQ Tuning Thread


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: