Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Sorry newbie here... what do you mean by grinding when you shift???

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2003, 02:39 AM
Z350Lover

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sorry newbie here... what do you mean by grinding when you shift???

Sorry... I am a newbie to the manual transmission... only got to drive my friend's WRX and RAV4 for serveral times only...

I just got the car today and wondering to know what do you guys mean by grinding noise when you change the gear??? I always fully depress the clutch while I change, and somehow I feel that there is a grinding sound when I lift my foot up from the clutch (without depressing the gas padel).... is that the noise? or is that normal at all???

thanks for all the helps everyone!!!

cheers,

richie
Old 02-14-2003, 06:42 AM
ares
Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

maybe it is. grinding is when you lift the clutch prematurely, and then put it into gear, you will feel and hear a grind, which is the gears rubbing togehter. it just means you didnt have the clutch out when you actually did the shift.
Old 02-14-2003, 06:58 AM
2003z

or in the case of some of us, it is like the clutch isn't fully engaged when going from 2nd to 3rd, eventhough the clutch is all the way down.
Old 02-14-2003, 11:58 AM
Z350Lover

Mmmmmmmm.... interesting.... thanks everyone!!! but I always make sure that I depress the clutch fully before I move my stick though!!! then only lift my foot up on the clutch when the gera is entirely engaged.... and the car only has around 66km on it!

cheers,

richie
Old 02-15-2003, 11:48 AM
hwj

The grinding some of us here in the US are experiencing seems to be related to colder tempratures of the gear oil. It's summertime for you in Australia, so you may not experience this problem until the weather changes [does it ever get cold where you live?].