Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Airbag light keeps flashing, LOWERED FOLKS

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2011, 06:12 PM
SoldzMyZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airbag light keeps flashing, LOWERED FOLKS

Ok I've had this issue for a few years on and off. Each time it starts to flash, I would reset it and it go away for a year. In the past 6 months, its gotten to the point that resetting it is pointless since it keeps going off pretty much after I drive it, whereas before it used to go away for a while.

I noticed it became bad coincidentally when I lowered my car. I've raised it a bit, but it still persists. Next to returning my car to the stock height, anyone know what I should do to fix this?

I'm looking to sell me car next year so I'm trying to solve little issues so I can give the car to a new home.
Old 12-25-2011, 07:26 PM
1sikz31

Lowering your car has nothing to do with the air bag light...
I'm a nissan technician...

The air bag light may be many things...
30% of the time its from someone disconnecting an air bag component and thus causing the air bag light to illuminate... (Such as disconnecting a seat..)

40% of the time its from a bad seat belt assembly...

the other 30% of the time its from another air bag component is messed up such as an air bag...

All SEAT BELT components are covered for the lifetime of the car, replaced for 100% free...

Thats my knowledge from what I have seen the past 3 years at Nissan.
Take it to the dealer. Good luck.

Only thing that sucks is that you may be charged "1 hour" of diagnosis IF the air bag light is NOT from the seat belts malfunctioning.
Old 12-25-2011, 09:44 PM
dfresh713
Master

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

^This is some great information. I just had my car brought over and diagnosed for the airbag. It was the passenger side seat airbag causing the flashing for whatever reason. Next time the airbag light goes off hopefully Nissan will warranty this issue.