Notices
Mid-Atlantic Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington D.C.

Got ticket, need advice please

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2005, 11:14 AM
gspot35

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got ticket, need advice please

Well, it was bound to happen. I got pulled over the other day. I was making a left at a light and was boosting slightly in 1st gear and the rear broke loose. There was a cop that I passed waiting at the light to make a left perpendicular to me. He hooked a u-turn and pulled me. He wrote me up for Reckless Driving: Failure to maintain control. I'm new to VA so I've never heard of this charge. What am I looking at as far as penalties/fines? I did not receive a typical ticket, it was a summons to court. It's got me worried. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Craig
Old 06-02-2005, 11:20 AM
JCat
---------------

Received 73 Likes on 48 Posts

Copied from search results using Google. Reckless Virginia.

http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=72125

Subject: Re: Reckless Driving Charge - General Information
I was over charged with Reckless driving in the state of virginia in July.
It was my first traffic offense in my life and I really didnot know
what reckless driving meant. How ever the information on this page was
very useful to me.

I ended yup paying an attorney $1600 plus the fine.all in all I got
what I wanted , my charge was reduced to a infraction and it was
finally settled for a normal speeding ticket.

This thing works and it makes you less worryied about the worst that
could have happened (like being proved guilty for RD).

This is a very serious offence and in some states prudent police
officers charge people of these offences quite often. The definition
of RD is very open ended in most of the state laws and hence its abuse
by the police officers.

How ever I also recommend any one in this situation to hire a lawyer.
The money spent will be worth it in the long run.
Old 06-02-2005, 11:35 AM
huducks