Notices
Mid-Atlantic Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington D.C.

Reckless Driving Ticket, please give some idea

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2009, 10:16 PM
aykut

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reckless Driving Ticket, please give some idea

Hi

I guess i am also one of the unlucky drivers lately. I got a reckless driving ticket tonight around 12:20am.. I was driving on Sterling BLVD close to Route 7 and I was really tired after my job and I did not realize that i was speeding. The cop caught me speeding 55 on a 35 mile zone.. I am living in MD but working in VA so first I thought I will get a speeding ticket.. But, once she handed me a yellow paper, she said I should show up in Leesburg court on April 15th..

I have been driving since 2003 without any major traffic violations or tickets. I got couple small tickets like no plate or parking meter ticket but nothing serious like speeding or reckless driving..

My question is , how much do you guys think this thing can cost me ? I am extremely tight on budget right now so I do not know , I can hire a lawyer or not. What can happen , if i go and defend by myself ? Or what is the advantage of having a lawyer ?

My daily drive is a 91 civic so I do not know how much it can affect my insurance rate but I do not think , it can incrase a lot.. I was reading previous posts and people were mentioning about $1000 lawyer fees, i do not have any savings to pay this kind of money.. I Know lawyer fees are expensive but I believe there are some people that can;t charge an arm and a leg.. I might force myself to pay $200, $300 but do you think i can hire a lawyer around that range?Please do not start saying why were you doing 55 on a 35 zone .. I accept that it was my fault and i was extremely tired after work so i did not even realized that i was speeding.. I just wanna go home and rest so i was kinda rushing.. Please give some advice for what to do ?

Last edited by aykut; 01-20-2009 at 10:27 PM.