Notices
Mid-Atlantic Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington D.C.

HELP: Looking for an IT Job

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2009 | 05:41 AM
bb1314
da Terminator!

Default HELP: Looking for an IT Job

Hey Mid-A. I got a job in a commercial consulting firm as an Senior IT Consultant in the Baltimore area and moved down to Columbia, MD back in December 2008. The company had been doing really bad this past quarter due to the economy and had laid off a good number of people the past few days. I am feeling really insecure here since I have not gotten into a project since I've started here and it has been over 2 months. I know my time of getting laid off is coming soon and so I am seeking for an alternative. Anyone knows of any IT jobs in the Baltimore, Silver Spring, Rockville area? I know I should've stayed in NOVA but it's a bit too late to talk about that now...

I can email you my resume. Cliff Note on my qualifications: I have a BS degree on computer science. I have over 4 years of experience in software development/consulting. I worked for Micros System as a tester, IBM as a software developer, Booz Allen Hamilton as an IT Consultant and now Sogeti USA(Commerical consulting firm) as an IT Consultant.

I am looking for a position as a .Net Developer, Business Analyst, System Analyst, System Engineer, or IT Consultant. Oh wait.. I can even be system admin, database admin or network admin!

Thanks for your help in advance!
Old 02-09-2009 | 05:46 AM
WYZIWYG

Ethan,

You should seriously consider a federal position with those qualifications. I work in IT as well and all my experience has come from on-the-job training. Check out www.usajobs.gov and search IT related fields. Some agencies are doing mass hirings right now so it's worth a look.

GL,

Clay
Old 02-09-2009 | 05:55 AM
bb1314
da Terminator!

Thanks Clay! I am gonna look into that!
Old 02-09-2009 | 06:03 AM
bigslim350Z

government job = job security
Old 02-09-2009 | 06:03 AM
NX2KDET
Cpt. Nauti Raw